how to store update defination of antivirus

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by digiFriend, Mar 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. digiFriend

    digiFriend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how to store update defination of antivirus "Avira AntiVir "so that if reinstall ,I does not need download all virus defination again.
     
  2. ECE0105

    ECE0105 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Excellent Question Dude......

    I request all the Enlightened souls to answer this issue since d/l the updates for all the anti-spyware Firewalls and Antivirus software are a Big headache.......

    I like Ad-Aware in this regards since you only have to save the defs.ref file which is enough to update the definitions.......
     
  3. saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    u just go to the folder that contains the updates and copy the vdf files. when u reinstall it, replace the original vdf file with the files u copied. this will update ur definitions. vdf file is in case u r using avira antivir.
     
  4. ECE0105

    ECE0105 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Thanks for the reply Saurabh...

    Can you please let me know the methods for McAfee and AVG Anti-Virus also..

    Thanks in Advance....
     
  5. saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    for mcafee, i think they are .dat files which u have to copy. for AVG, it is a .bin file such as
    u7iavi294zv.bin
     
  6. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    I use AVG and all updates r stored in:

    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Grisoft\Avg7Data\upd7bin

    PS: Here C: is the drive, where u hv installed the Windows!
     
  7. RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    Guys what about ZA Security suit??
     
  8. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    avast pro?
     
  9. thadhanihemant

    thadhanihemant New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    plz elaborate a bit about mcafee, i posted a similar ques.. but with no reply
     
  10. saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    u just have to replace the original .dat files with the updated files. take a backup of the .dat files as soon as it is updated.
     
  11. nach p

    nach p New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mUMBAI
    I use NOD32 and its update files are stored in program files in updlfiles folder.
    There are two ver files and some nup files.
    All nupfiles shows modified date when i updated defination.But ver files shows diferent date.
    So shall i backup whole folder or only ver or nup files ?
     
  12. ECE0105

    ECE0105 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Thanks a lot guys for the replies.....

    I will thankfully be saved from the hassel of Installing the updates all over again when I format my computer.....

    This will be a boon for a few of my friends who are still stuck with Dial-up.....

    Thank you once again.........
     
  13. h_kunte

    h_kunte New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur, India
    Hello All,

    Could anyone please tell where the updates for Kaspersky AV get stored in the program files folder??

    Peace

    HK
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page