how to shutdown...

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by vandit, Jul 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vandit

    vandit New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    If I had a webcam u could have seen me, before you
    sob..... i started using linux recently..... the suse (one of the slightely older dunno which) and am totaly new to it.... can anyone tell me how to shutdown?????? in the start button there is only log off......whuch returns me to the log in screen ..not shutdown....plz help i have to press the power button on the cpu to turn off.......Helppppppppppppppppppp..:-?
     
  2. Desmond David

    Desmond David Destroy Erase Improve

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pune
    AFAIK, the log out option in the launch menu is the only way you can shutdown a KDE run Linux machine. Look carefully and you should find the options to shutdown, Restart and Log off.
     
  3. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    Hmmm...power button is for emergency. SHuts down the machine when the system is heavily loaded and is not responding quickly.
    Neways logoff takes u to shutdown menu!! To shutdown open root terminal and write " shutdown -h now ". Ur done !!
    To restart type "shutdown -r now"!
    Problem solved!!
     
  4. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Also when you come to the login screen. Check the bottom part. There should be Shutdown/Reboot/ or some such options. Just explore a bit you should find it.
     
  5. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    On the Login Screen, u should get the shutdown menu, like "System menu" or something like that.
     
  6. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    or open terminal... then type 'init 0'
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2006
  7. nach p

    nach p New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mUMBAI
    for shut down in cli mode init 0 and
    what is the command for restart ?
    init ???
     
  8. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think its init 6
     
  9. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Yeah init 6 is for reboot.
     
  10. dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it possible that we directly get all options(Restart/shutdown/logoff) to choose when we click logout ,
    I suppose that it is possible but dunno how to do it....
    Kubuntu has similar thing,
    geeks out here find how to do that....
     
  11. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think its in mandrake 10.1
     
  12. dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @pathiks: I hope that wudnt be changing to Mandriva for this thing...
    If any body knows hot to add that option in kmemu itself, plz post...
     
  13. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i told mandrake....
     
  14. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Open the Terminal Window and type:
    First login as Root
    $ su -
    (Enter password )
    $ telinit 0
    (ie., telinit followed by zero '0')
    Press the Enter key.
    This will shutdown your Suse Linux O.S. This will work in any Linux!!
    Similarly 'telinit 6' will reboot your System (similar to 'reboot' command).
     
  15. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    The problem here is that you guys are either not using a display manager or using something other than KDM. For the shutdown options to appear under KDE logoff screen, you people HAVE to use KDM with KDE. You cannot use GDM, XDM (or any other display manager) and get the shutdown options.

    If you use GDM and KDE then the only "graphical" way to shutdown is to return to display manager and shutdown from there. Oh and please don't use the power button, you will corrupt your file system and screw the whole OS.
     
  16. dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @pathiks: dear lad Mandrake is now Mandriva.....plz hinder posting msg which are more like sms and that too of nobody's help....

    @jguru: u didn't get me....the answer u gave has already been given by many people see kalpik's and all....

    @eddie: Yes u are right i am using gdm right now, but don't know how to use KDM as my display manager....Can u tell me that....
    In which conf file i have to make changes...
    Thanks in Advance.
     
  17. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page