How To Shift Mydocuments ???????????????

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by EagerBeaver, Aug 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EagerBeaver

    EagerBeaver New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have just required to format my PC. Due to this I have lost all my documents. I just wanted to ask you, whether I can change the location of this mydocuments to another dirive, so that if I have to reformat again, I will not loose my data. Please help me.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  2. paul_007

    paul_007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    earth
    instead of keeping ur data in my documents y dont u put them in separate folder in different drive
     
  3. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya u can copy all the data 4m my documents to another drive b4 formatting...
     
  4. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    Right-click on My Documents icon and select Properties and in TARGET box type ur desired location. :)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    EagerBeaver

    EagerBeaver New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Arrey boss, what happens when your PC suddenly refuses to boot one fine day ????????????? that is wht I wanted to shift the mydocument position.

    and I have tried my documents properties etc, but somehow it is not working ?????????????????
     
  6. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wat error comes wen u do wat vishal said... it shd work...
     
  7. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    Just copy the data of My Documents and paste in your separate folder.
     
  8. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Did you try what Vishal wrote ..? It should work .. You can have a look at this kb article too ..
     
  9. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    Or, get TweakUI for Windows, go to My Computer in the left side menu and choose Special Folders. Here, you can set My Documents to a different location...

    Arun
     
  10. OP
    OP
    EagerBeaver

    EagerBeaver New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After I reboot, the setting comes back to the default drive location. Maybe I am not doint it correctly. But I will copy the contenst of My Documents to another drive as BackUp. Thankz for the idea. I will also try this Tweak UI.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page