1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

how to run vb forms without vb installed?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by cool_dude_prav, Dec 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cool_dude_prav

    cool_dude_prav New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    how to run vb forms without vb installed?

    Please help me with links.
     
  2. prakashaka

    prakashaka New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mangalore
    Yes u can run VB forms without VB installed..
    But u must install VB runtime
    and u must create exe file of ur forms
     
  3. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    The VB Form files (*.frm) are just text files which you can edit as you like it in the Notepad itself .. But to compile them,you will need the VB Compiler .. You can compile and run VB .Net files without the IDE though just through the Framework installed ...
     
  4. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
    as prakshaka and batty have already told ..
    u cannot run vb forms directly without vb installed ..
    but u can run vb.net forms .. if u have .net framework installed

    moreover .. if u want to rum vb files
    u will have to create .exe file from the project .. ( this can obviously be done only if u have vb installed )
    now the .exe can run on any computer having winxp
    if u want to run the file in win98 or others then u will have to install vb runtime library from this link
     
  5. nitnew

    nitnew New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bathinda
    VB runtime

    you just copy the system files that are required to run the exe file. then make an exe file. place these system files in the system32 folder of the windows in which VB is not installed. then run the exe, you do not need any frm files only the exe file and system files are more then enough
     
  6. OP
    OP
    cool_dude_prav

    cool_dude_prav New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    YAAR guys I meant to compile w/o having to install VB and to get the .exe files as I have to use this in my frnds' office where I cannot use illegal ver of VB
     
  7. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Well .. You cant then ... Try some other IDE and language ... :p ...
     
  8. nitnew

    nitnew New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bathinda
    VB

    friend do not worry
    install VB on your system then compile and run the project see the system files which you nedd, then list the files.

    or

    just make the set up copy of the program. which you install on the friends' company
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page