how to make DVD to mount automatically ???

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by thilina, Sep 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thilina

    thilina From Sri Lanka

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sri Lanka
    I have a dvd rom.when I insert a dvd to it in windows the DVD works fine.But in ubuntu it is mounted as a blank DVD .I cant use it in any way.I cant use it to watch movies,to get data or anything.But in windows all goes well.
    I found a command from ubuntu start guide to mount cd's manually.It is "sudo mount /media/cdrom0/ -o unhide" .When I input this command in terminal it gives this message "mount: block device /dev/hdb is write-protected, mounting read-only" .But the DVD gets mounted succesfully.So my question is this.Cant I set the DVD's to be mounted automatically after I insert them,rather than doing this typing in terminal??
     
  2. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Have you tried passing these parameters in /etc/fstab?
    Besides, if you do not want to see the 'mounting read only' message, pass ro also to options in fstab.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    thilina

    thilina From Sri Lanka

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sri Lanka
    I am new to linux.Ill be glad if you explain me briefly plz
     
  4. drsethi

    drsethi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Amritsar
    You cannot automount Cd or DVD in Linux. This is a security feature of Linux.
     
  5. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Sorry drsethi, but it is possible to automount any media. Of course it is disabled by default and with a good reason. But, it is surely possible to enable it.
    These links should help you understand more
    Open fstab file by the command
    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/fstab
    Make the necessary changes and save it.
    Then run this command
    Code:
    sudo mount -a
    Also, read man page for more
    Code:
    man fstab
     
  6. OP
    OP
    thilina

    thilina From Sri Lanka

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sri Lanka
    But the CD's get auto mounted ???
    __________
    Ill chk the links
    (I still dont understand anything !!)
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page