how to make autorun cd of any software

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by stone cold, Oct 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stone cold

    stone cold New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    noida
    hi :D guys out there can u tell me how to make autorun cd of the software i want :?: rit now i want to make autorun and bootable of norton systemworks :idea: and only autorun of macromedia dreamviwer.
     
  2. digidream

    digidream New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Stone Cold,

    This is very easy. If u collect the digit cd's, u can check the autorun.inf file in the root of that CD.

    In same way u can insert ur desirable executable file on that's file place & copy it in to ur cd. That's it.

    Hope it'll help.
     
  3. club_pranay

    club_pranay Nokia 7110 to iPhone 5

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    like this----in a text doc type..

    [autorun]
    open=file.exe
    icon=file.ico





    save as autorun.ini
     
  4. OP
    OP
    stone cold

    stone cold New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    noida

    dat's ok but what abt bootable cd i didnt find any image or program for that.
     
  5. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    Hi stone cold,
    To make a bootable cd u need nero.
    Run Nero and select "create boot cd " option. YOu need your bootable floppy for that. Just insert it and neor copies it then add the contents and burn it enjoy!!!
    adn make sure boot from cd is enabled in the BIOS else even if the cd is bootable it will not bott :)

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
  6. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    With Nero you can make a bootable CD only be emulation. That is, it can only emulate a bootable floppy (or a hard disk, I guess). So each time you boot with a CD, you can only access 1.2 mb of data. Even if you have other things on the CD, it isn't accessible :(
     
  7. girish_b

    girish_b New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kerala , calicut
    I think he wanna make an intro to his softwqre backup cd's..
    so make a introusing flash and save it as an exe file.
    use the code given by club_pranay to create an inf file.(copy it to notepad and save it with the extension .inf.
    you can pm me for a simple tutorial on flash.
     
  8. sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    You can create autorun cds by adding the file autorun.ini with formatt as mentioned above. For bootable cd use the iso soft provided by Digit in the DVD
     
  9. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    hmm, u dudes r trying to make the cd autorun, does anyone knows how to disable autorun in win xp?

    [​IMG]
     
  10. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    In Win98, you go to System Properties. There select the CD-ROM and go to its properties. Within the 3 tabs that come, one of them has an option of disabling Auto Insert Notification. Change settings and restart Windows. :)

    I guess the procedure must be same in XP.
     
  11. kl_ravi

    kl_ravi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ತುಮಕೂರು, ಕರ್ನಾಟಕ
    Just hold the "SHIFT" key while inserting the disk. It should stop the autorun.
     
  12. amistik

    amistik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jorhat
    1. Click Start and select Run
    2. Type gpedit.msc and click ok
    3. Go to Computer Configuration > Administrative Template >System
    4. Locate Disable Auto Play or Turn Autoplay Off
    5. Enable it
     
  13. i_say_hello

    i_say_hello New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    for this you will have to write an autorun.inf file on to your cd.
    it should read like this:

    [autorun]
    open=filename.exe
    icon=icon.jpg

    the 'filename.exe' is the name of the executable to be run
    icon.jpg is the icon to be displayed (duh!)
     
  14. cooljeba

    cooljeba The Photoshop Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Your monitor!
    icon dosen't have an extension as .jpg it has an extension .ico :)

    ..:: peace ::..
    Jeba
     
  15. godzi_85

    godzi_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    oh how to autorun a PPT presentation.... please help fast..
     
  16. kl_ravi

    kl_ravi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ತುಮಕೂರು, ಕರ್ನಾಟಕ
    To autorun power point files there are two crude methods.....

    1) Convert it to *.exe or *.swf using Powerconvertor you can run the exe as indicated above.

    You have to run the *.swf as follows...
    2) In microsoft frontpage create a new HTML cdocument and insert a plugin and select the source as the *.swf file you have created.

    Now save the html file as index.html. Now to auto run copy and paste the following into notepad and save it as autorun.inf :)

    [AUTORUN]
    open=start/ index.html
    icon=icon.ico

    that should load the html file you have created. :)
    ========================

    You can download a demo of Powerconvertor here..
    http://www.presentationpro.com/products/PowerCONVERTER.asp

    =================================
    The other method is to export all slides of a PPT presentation as *.gifs and using irfan view create a self running slide show EXE file and autorun the EXE file as indicated above
     
  17. yaaara_daaa_tashannn

    yaaara_daaa_tashannn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Its not .ini

    Hi guys...

    I'd like to tell u guys that the file name is not autorun.ini but autorun.inf. Please read autorun.ini as autorun.inf and follow the procedure as already told. it DOES work.
     
  18. godzi_85

    godzi_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    thanks so much.. i`ll try and make a ppt presentation..thanks a lot..
     
  19. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I think autorun only takes an exe file and not a ppt presentation as something that runs automatically. However, I may be wrong. But in the past, it hasn't worked for .htm files on a CD.
     
  20. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    same as

    [autorun]
    open=file.ppt
    icon=file.ico
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page