1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

How to know other end's ip while Chatting in YAHOO!!!!!

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by Captain Crime, Feb 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Captain Crime

    Captain Crime New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Murder house!!
    I think the heading says it all
    how to know other persons ip while chatting,in Y!M.
    but can u geeks tell me how to do it without transferring of files/pic with her.
    also netstat doesn't work
     
  2. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Not possible. You have to establish a direct connection by either sending files or by starting a audio/video connection.
     
  3. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
  4. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Hey eddie you got the previous post mixed up, It should go somewhere else.
    BTW, if you're sending a file, can you view other person's IP? I just want to know it from security's point of view.
     
  5. champ_rock

    champ_rock champ_rock

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere on the earth , near the equator
    yeh........ even sometimes u can view ip info about that computer when u have a direct connection.......
    try to use netstat in ms dos
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Captain Crime

    Captain Crime New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Murder house!!
  7. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Yes. Sending a file and audio chats etc. create a direct connection to the other person. You can just use netstat to view all the connections your PC has made, from which it will be easy to combine whois and know the IP of the other person.

    Oh damn! That is what happens when you are sleepy and have lots of tabs opened in your browser.

    /NOTE to self: Don't ignore the sleep :)
     
  8. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Have you ever used this thing? It doesn't work when you are doing normal chatting. All the chats are routed through Yahoo! servers and you will see yourself directly connected to Yahoo! servers and NOT to the person.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Captain Crime

    Captain Crime New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Murder house!!
    Well i'm sorry
    even i found it tht it doesnt work
     
  10. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    Nah its very simple! First u see all the netstat result b4 sending the file etc, then again see the result after sending the file! What is added in the result is the IP of ur chat friend!
     
  11. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Any such software there for *nix systems?
     
  12. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    netstat should already be there in your system.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Captain Crime

    Captain Crime New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Murder house!!
    Go to run
    write cmd
    and then type netstat
     
  14. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    He is talking about *nix systems...like Linux systems. There is no run or cmd here.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Captain Crime

    Captain Crime New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Murder house!!
    sry.dunno abt Linux
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page