How to know a Hard Disk is new?

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by g_goyal2000, Dec 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. g_goyal2000

    g_goyal2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I'm going to get my crashed hard disk replaced with a new one.
    How can I know whether the Hard Disk I have recieved is new?
     
  2. blackpearl

    blackpearl The Devil

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    0x02AE88C6FF
    Look for normal wear and tear. Look at the screw holes, do they look fresh and unscratched?
     
  3. techtronic

    techtronic I Always Prefer 1080p

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No matter what brand of Hard Disk you own,each of them has a
    Unique Serial Number.

    Just write down your crashed Hard Disk's Serial Number and check for it when you get your replacement

    Both should be different
    Its as simple as that
     
  4. sariq

    sariq Guest

    or look for manufacturing date. for new hard disk it should be within last 1-2 months
     
  5. ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    go to the manufacturer's website and check the warranty expiry date..for the serial no of ur new HDD
     
  6. Eazy

    Eazy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    The way I check the age of a HDD is to run any SMART program on first starting of HDD and check the "start/stop count" and "power on time" .... I use the freewares Diskcheckup or HDDTune for SMART readings.

    EDIT: Even a low level format does not Zero or change these SMART readings so it should give you a correct idea of the HDDs usage.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2006
  7. OP
    OP
    g_goyal2000

    g_goyal2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Delhi
    What kind of SMART program? Kindly point me to it/them.
     
  8. da_tcpip

    da_tcpip New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    i think he meant Diskcheckup and HD Tune are freewares which you should look into.. and if you reply with what to do next.. i suggest you to click on those links download the app :)
     
  9. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    In the commonly used small and free programme called "speedfan" there is an option of "S.M.A.R.T." in which you can select your HDD and click on "Perform an in-depth online analysis of this hard disk".You have to be online and you will get the results within seconds including "Power On Hours Count". This is only what I know and there may be easier ways.
     
  10. Eazy

    Eazy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    These are the exact 2 which I use :)

    I got a HDD replaced by Hitachi 2 days back and after a Format and restore of a backup image I checked the SMART readings and it shows 3 hours power on time .... looks like I got a NEW HDD. :)
     
  11. ax3

    ax3 Cool as a CUCUMBAR ! ! !

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,388
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cool ........ thanx 4 the softwares & info abt Unique serial no ..........
     
  12. ayush_chh

    ayush_chh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore
    when a hard disk is connected first time to the PC , it shows a message....i m not sure but i hav heard.....once this message is read it never reappears.....
     
  13. Eazy

    Eazy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Do you mean "Initialize" ? When I low level format a HDD from a bootable CD with the software provided by HDD maker and I next start XP it does ask me again if I want to initialize the HDD. Also after I run KILLDISK to clean a HDD I am asked by XP about initialization of the HDD.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page