How to give background music to a website?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by aditya.shevade, Jul 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aditya.shevade

    aditya.shevade Console Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Hi

    I need to know how to give a background music to a complete website like there is on digit cds and dvds. It should continue on the next page (It should not restart from the beginning). Also I need a play, pause, stop, volume butten to operate the music and also change it and select one of the avalable musics. Please can anyone tell me?

    Thank you
    Aditya Shevade
     
  2. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Digit uses Flash on its CD/DVDs!

    Frankly speaking, its pretty annoying to have background music on a site, especially if there's no stop button! I will post about music on the site, but later. Need to rush for a meeting. Expect it to be here sometime today :)

    As for continuous music, you can use frames (which is a bad for search engine listsings).
     
  3. __Virus__

    __Virus__ New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Seriously the music annoys me to hell until n unless its some hard music which it wont :D and if u r indeed planning to have music make sure u dont eat up the bandwidth of the user and do install a stop button
     
  4. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    Hmmm.....
    Add this to ur header section!!

    <bgsound src="source.mid" loop="2"></bgsound>

    here source.mid is the background music and loop="2" is the number of times the muzic will repeat itself. In this case 2 times.

    Have fun!
     
  5. OP
    OP
    aditya.shevade

    aditya.shevade Console Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Hi

    Thank you everyone but how to exactly apply the music to the whole website?

    Aditya
     
  6. blueshift

    blueshift Wise Old Crow

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Inside the Pixel
    Just add the code after body tag.

    the bgsound element will play the sound uncontrollably. Also it is supported only by IE, i think.
    Instead use the 'embed' element which will allow you to play or stop the sound.
    The code is: Use this inside the body tag.

    <embed src="filename.mid" volume="100" align="center" loop="100" height="30" width="100" autostart="true">
     
  7. gaurav21r

    gaurav21r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    High, High above, over that Blue Sky
    Sometimes if u have ur download manager in the background, the background music gets downloaded instead of being played almost "invisibily". And sometimes it gets downloaded as well as played!

    You don't reallly need it actually.. All top quality sites don't have background music, it actually has negative impact in many cases...
     
  8. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Try this code. I admit, I haven't written this code. :)

    Code:
    <div>
        <!--[if !IE]> <-->
            <object type="audio/midi" data="file.mid" width="300" height="30">
                <param name="autoplay" value="true">
                Error: Embedding <a href="file.mid">file.mid</a> with your browser's audio/midi handler failed. The browser plug-ins distributed with <a href="www.apple.com/quicktime/download/">Quicktime</a> handle the audio/midi type.
            </object>
        <!--> <![endif]-->
        <!--[if IE]>
            <object classid="clsid:02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B" codebase="http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab" width="300" height="30">
                <param name="src" value="file.mid">
                <param name="autoplay" value="true">
            </object>
        <![endif]-->
    </div>
    
     
  9. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Better don't use any music. It annoys the users of the site if they can't turn it off.
    And if they can't turn off the music, they will go to another site!!
     
  10. OP
    OP
    aditya.shevade

    aditya.shevade Console Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Hi

    Thank you everyone. Now I think it's better not to apply a background music. But can't I include (I just want how to do this) a media player on the site. Like there is one on ricky martin site. You can stop play control volume of the songs.

    Aditya
     
  11. blueshift

    blueshift Wise Old Crow

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Inside the Pixel
    The one on the Ricky Martin site is a flash mp3 player. Its designed using flash authoring s/w like FlashMX.
    You could design your own or search in google.
    I found this site for you:
    http://www.flamplayer.com/
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page