How to find if my system is auto updating and that the firewall is working?

Status
Not open for further replies.

unni

In the zone
Hi,
This is my first post on the internet from Linux. I have been dreaming about accessing internet from Linux for two years, and today it became true. Before going deeper with Linux, I have the following queries.
1. How do I know if the firewall is running? I don't see any icon related to firewall near the clock (taskbar?).
2. How do I know if auto update of the OS is enabled? I am on DataOne bandwidth limited plan.

I am using Mandriva 2006.

JGuru

Wise Old Owl
@Unni, First visit the website easyurpmi
1) Open the Terminal Window (Console) & login as root.
$ su -
(Enter password)
# urpmi.removemedia -a
2) Start FireFox, visit the site *easyurpmi.zarb.org/
Select 'Mandriva Release', 'CPU architecture', 'urpmi'
Click on 'Proceed to Step 2'
3) Select all the sources and a mirror close to where you live, then 'Proceed to Step 3'
4) Copy & paste one line at a time given in the code box into the Console Window.
A line always ends with '.cz'. You can also count how many lines you have.
5) Your updated package lists are downloaded to your machine, and you are ready
to update. Once the last download is complete. Logout & close the Console Window.

Update Procedure:

1)Open the 'Control Center' , find 'Software Management' , select updates. Press
'Yes' both times when prompted.
2) Select both 'Security Updates', & 'Bug fixes update' .Normal updates are not
so important, you can download them later. All the updates are listed below,
select 'All' at the top of the list.Some additional packages are required , click on
'OK' to accept.
3) Click on 'install' to start the download & install process. This may take some time
depending on your Net connection. When the updated process is finished, you'll
get a prompt saying 'Update list is empty if all updates are installed'.