How to connect internet in Redhat v4 ???

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by Gokulakrishnan, May 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gokulakrishnan

    Gokulakrishnan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Erode, TN, IND
    Iam using bsnl dial up connection to connect internet with my winxp. My PC is a dual booting os comprising of xp and Redhat v4. i dont know how to configure redhat to make internet working.

    pls tell me the steps to configure modem and to connect net. thanks in advance. :confused:
     
  2. paragkalra

    paragkalra The Linux Man !

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur, Maharashtra, India
    {First thing you need to do is that open the terminal and in terminal type}

    [root@localhost ~]# adsl-status

    {You must see the following message.}

    /sbin/adsl-status: Cannot read configuration file '/etc/ppp/pppoe.conf'

    {Then type following command.}

    [root@localhost ~]# adsl-setup

    {You will see something like this.}

    Welcome to the ADSL client setup. First, I will run some checks on
    your system to make sure the PPPoE client is installed properly...


    LOGIN NAME

    {Enter your login /user name provided by BSNL. I did something like this.}

    Enter your Login Name (default root): pollengrain

    INTERFACE

    {We generally have one lan-card. So just press enter key. In case you have multiple lan-cards then you type eth0 or eth1 or eth2 so on and so forth as may be the case}

    Enter the Ethernet interface connected to the ADSL modem
    For Solaris, this is likely to be something like /dev/hme0.
    For Linux, it will be ethX, where 'X' is a number.
    (default eth0):

    {Just press enter key for the following event as well.}

    Do you want the link to come up on demand, or stay up continuously?
    If you want it to come up on demand, enter the idle time in seconds
    after which the link should be dropped. If you want the link to
    stay up permanently, enter 'no' (two letters, lower-case.)
    NOTE: Demand-activated links do not interact well with dynamic IP
    addresses. You may have some problems with demand-activated links.
    Enter the demand value (default no):

    DNS

    {In this case you need to give the IP address of the DNS server to which your machine should connect. I entered primary DNS as 61.1.96.69 and secondary DNS as 61.1.96.71 as shown below. You cannot use any IP address. You need to use these only.}

    Please enter the IP address of your ISP's primary DNS server.
    If your ISP claims that 'the server will provide dynamic DNS addresses',
    enter 'server' (all lower-case) here.
    If you just press enter, I will assume you know what you are
    doing and not modify your DNS setup.
    Enter the DNS information here: 61.1.96.69
    Please enter the IP address of your ISP's secondary DNS server.
    If you just press enter, I will assume there is only one DNS server.
    Enter the secondary DNS server address here: 61.1.96.71

    {Now it will ask you to enter you password. Remember while typing password it won't show you any thing, just don't panic, It is accepting your password.}

    PASSWORD

    Please enter your Password:
    Please re-enter your Password:

    USERCTRL

    {It means whether you want to give the permission to local user apart from root user to access broadband. I allowed the local user by just typing yes.}

    Please enter 'yes' (two letters, lower-case.) if you want to allow
    normal user to start or stop DSL connection (default yes): yes

    FIREWALLING

    {Enabling firewall sometimes may be quite troublesome. So its just better to disable it by typing 0 as shown bellow.}

    Please choose the firewall rules to use. Note that these rules are
    very basic. You are strongly encouraged to use a more sophisticated
    firewall setup; however, these will provide basic security. If you
    are running any servers on your machine, you must choose 'NONE' and
    set up firewalling yourself. Otherwise, the firewall rules will deny
    access to all standard servers like Web, e-mail, ftp, etc. If you
    are using SSH, the rules will block outgoing SSH connections which
    allocate a privileged source port.

    The firewall choices are:
    0 - NONE: This script will not set any firewall rules. You are responsible
    for ensuring the security of your machine. You are STRONGLY
    recommended to use some kind of firewall rules.
    1 - STANDALONE: Appropriate for a basic stand-alone web-surfing workstation
    2 - MASQUERADE: Appropriate for a machine acting as an Internet gateway
    for a LAN
    Choose a type of firewall (0-2): 0

    Start this connection at boot time

    {Now it will ask you whether you want to connect to Internet during booting. Allow it to avoid pain in your neck.}

    Do you want to start this connection at boot time?
    Please enter no or yes (default no):yes

    {It will now present you a summary of your entries. Check it and accept the changes by just typing y.}

    ** Summary of what you entered **

    Ethernet Interface: eth0
    User name: pollengrain
    Activate-on-demand: No
    Primary DNS: 61.1.96.69
    Secondary DNS: 61.1.96.71
    Firewalling: NONE
    User Control: yes
    Accept these settings and adjust configuration files (y/n)? y
    Adjusting /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-ppp0
    Adjusting /etc/resolv.conf
    Adjusting /etc/ppp/chap-secrets and /etc/ppp/pap-secrets
    (But first backing it up to /etc/ppp/chap-secrets.bak)
    (But first backing it up to /etc/ppp/pap-secrets.bak)



    Congratulations, it should be all set up!

    Type '/sbin/ifup ppp0' to bring up your xDSL link and '/sbin/ifdown ppp0'
    to bring it down.
    Type '/sbin/adsl-status /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-ppp0'
    to see the link status.

    {Now check the status by using following command.}

    [root@localhost ~]# adsl-status

    {It will show you following message.}

    adsl-status: Link is down (can't read pppoe PID file /var/run/pppoe-adsl.pid.pppoe)

    {Now you need to connect to your BSNL server. Execute following command in terminal. If everything goes well you won't see any message or error.}

    [root@localhost ~]# adsl-start

    {Now again check the status and make out the difference}

    [root@localhost ~]# adsl-status

    adsl-status: Link is up and running on interface ppp0
    ppp0 Link encap:point-to-Point Protocol
    inet addr:59.95.67.165 P-t-P:59.95.64.1 Mask:255.255.255.255
    UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
    RX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
    RX bytes:126 (126.0 b) TX bytes:182 (182.0 b)

    {You will notice that your machine has been provided a dynamic IP. Next time when you would login this IP would be different one. This IP may also change automatically after some time during same login as well. Now check the connectivity using ping command. If you see something like show bellow then your connection has been successful. Press control key and c key simultaneously to come out.

    [root@localhost ~]# ping www.google.com
    PING www.l.google.com (66.102.7.104) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=0 ttl=252 time=321 ms
    64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=1 ttl=252 time=333 ms
    64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=2 ttl=252 time=332 ms
    64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=3 ttl=252 time=330 ms
    64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=4 ttl=252 time=331 ms
    64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=5 ttl=252 time=330 ms
    64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=6 ttl=252 time=331 ms
    64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=7 ttl=252 time=330 ms
    64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=8 ttl=252 time=331 ms
    64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=9 ttl=252 time=332 ms
    64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=10 ttl=252 time=333 ms

    --- www.l.google.com ping statistics ---
    11 packets transmitted, 11 received, 0% packet loss, time 9998ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 321.612/330.776/333.217/3.089 ms, pipe 2
    [root@localhost ~]#

    {Go to your web browser and surf the net. Enjoy!}


    {To disconnect from Internet use this.}

    [root@localhost ~]#adsl-stop
    Send in your queries and feedback at paragkalra@gmail.com
    For further details visit http://discoverlinux.blogspot.com
     
  3. vignesh

    vignesh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Looks like it worked for You afterall....
     
  4. blackpearl

    blackpearl The Devil

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    0x02AE88C6FF
    He is asking about dial up and you replied about adsl.
    My friend, just go to ur modem manufacturer's website and see if there is any driver for Redhat v4. If yes, then download and install it but dont expect it to work coz it rarely does :(
     
  5. vignesh

    vignesh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Do you have an internal/External modem ?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Gokulakrishnan

    Gokulakrishnan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Erode, TN, IND
    I am using an internal Dax 56.6kbps modem.
    It is frightning to configure the thousands of steps.
    Sooorry :mad: guys now only I uninstall the Redhat and I installed the Ubuntu 5.10, is the configuring is similar to redhat in the ubuntu ???.
     
  7. vignesh

    vignesh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Check if your modem driver cd has the drivers for Redhat...I am sure its available for RedHat and even a doc will be there with the steps..

    The other steps were for setting up a Broadband connection..So get afraid or anything..
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Gokulakrishnan

    Gokulakrishnan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Erode, TN, IND
    The Linux drivers in the modem Cd consists of Linux7.3, Linux 8.0, and Linux 9.0. What I have to do now ???:confused:
     
  9. vignesh

    vignesh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    You you have the modem drivers for only RedHat 7.3,8,9.. You are using RHEL 4

    So the best thing I suggest is install RH9 as a dual boot with RHEL 4 and use it for surfing the net..You can ofcourse share data within the two OS`es.. And download Firefox 1.5 (8 mb )or better Opera 8.5 (3.5 Mb) and install it in Rh9 since the browsers in RH9 are old and the sites don`t load well especially Gmail/Orkut etc...

    Or check linmodems.org for a modem driver but speed is limited to 14kbps thats a waste..

    Or buy an external modem you get Dax at 1200/-

    I would suggest the first option.
     
  10. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Well dax modem uses pctel chipset. So, if you can find any drivers for pctel for RHEL 4, it just might work. Am not sure though.
    But, I would rather say, if you are keen on using RHEL get an external modem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page