How much power does my smps need?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by gaurav_018, Jul 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gaurav_018

    gaurav_018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My smps current power rating is 235W
    p3 933 {512mbRam}
    I have two hard disks -seagate barracuda
    DVDDrive, CD-writer
    PCI modem

    I recently installed a lan card and now while logged on the net my games crash. how many Watts should my smps be?
     
  2. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    minimum nowadays ? ATLEAST a 300w .... within the next couple of months ATLEAST 350w ...
    and for future chipsets etc. ... atleast 400+
     
  3. OP
    OP
    gaurav_018

    gaurav_018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    but Is my current power supply sufficiant? Please read my problem. while using both my lan card + cd drive while connected to the net my system crashes
     
  4. lavan_joy

    lavan_joy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In your heart
    better to get a 400 is a worthy one...
     
  5. OP
    OP
    gaurav_018

    gaurav_018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how much will a 300w and a 400w SMPS cost?
     
  6. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Take a 300watts if that doesn't satisfy you you may go for 350watts.
    300watts=Rs.600-recommended
    350=naer 1k-maximimum
    400watts=1.2k(powersafwe)
     
  7. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    ummm yeah akshayt is right
    but yet ... i think u should get a 350w
    its upto u anyways :D
    you spoke abt ur system crashin ... and then ur askin abt ur smps
    so what exactly seems to be the problem ?
    i mean ... did it crash because ur smps was insufficient or what ?
    i guess basically just tell us what u mean by "CRASH" exactly!!
     
  8. OP
    OP
    gaurav_018

    gaurav_018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "crashes" as in I suddently get a black screen and a continious BEEP from my motherboard
     
  9. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    get yuor mobo checked.It can also be because the systerm got heated.Anyways 300watts ps isn't too expensive.
    My config:
    1.7ghz 478socket willamette
    256mb sd 133 p4
    40gb 7200
    cd rw
    cd rom
    tnt2
    mercury 300watts ps
     
  10. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    hmm
    well if there was a problem with his mobo then it wouldnt start i guess
    anyways .... umm
    do one thing ... do u have onboard graphics or a gfx card ?
    if u have a card
    try runnin it on ur onboard graphics ..
    or borrow a friends card and check
    and better still
    borrow his smps and check ur system
    ofcourse make sure HIS smps is 300w or above ..
    let us know
     
  11. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have no onbaord agp.
     
  12. aadipa

    aadipa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palghar, Mumbai
    i think he asked that to gaurav_018
     
  13. OP
    OP
    gaurav_018

    gaurav_018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I'm using a Geforce 4mX 64
    I don't know anyone who would let me disconnect their SMPS.

    My system is not crashing because it's getting over heated. my cabinet has two fans installed and the temp here is very low.

    Let's refresh my problem:

    If some one could tell me how to calculate the needed W then my problem would be solved.My detailed config
    Pentium3 933
    815 EPEA intel motherboard
    256 * 2 Mb ram
    Seagate ST32042H
    SAMSUNG SV2042H
    SAMSUNG CDRW 52 24 52
    SAMSUNG DVD 8X
    GERORCE 4 MX 64MB
    CONEXANT SOFT56 DATA/FAX/VOICE PCI MODEM
    D-LINK DFE-538TX 10/100 ADAPTOR
    PS2 OPTICAL MOUSE FRONTECH
    USING ONBOARD SOUND
    STUDIOWORKS 775N (CONECTED TO A DIFFERENT POWERSUPLY)
     
  14. svenkat83

    svenkat83 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    I bought my 400W SMPS for just Rs.450 and its working great.
    Try getting one.
     
  15. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    So cheap !! Frm where and what brand ??
     
  16. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    @gaurav_018 like i said for that config u need atleast a 300w smps ...
    @svenkat ... yeah .. which one did u get for that much ?
     
  17. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since you are using 2hd's and 2 drives you should use 350watts or more.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    gaurav_018

    gaurav_018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks guys for all your help but i still would like to know how to calculate the W.
     
  19. rock_ya_baby

    rock_ya_baby New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    [undisclosed]
  20. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can sum up the volts of all components,not an easy job.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page