1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

How do i make Msn Messenger open email in Mozilla

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by beyondthegracefgod, Oct 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beyondthegracefgod

    beyondthegracefgod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southside of >Heaven<
    I want to setup Mozilla as the default browser on my PC, but programs still launch IE when accessing the internet

    This is what i have done so far
    1. Installed Mozilla
    2. Went to Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs > Add/Remove Windows Components > Removed Checkmark next to Internet Explorer
    3. Went to Set Program Access and Defaults, used the Non-Microsoft setting
    4. Went into Mozilla and set it as default browser

    However, when ever i click on link for emails I have received, links within MSN Messenger, I have Hotmail setup as the default mail - this opens in IE.

    Is there anything else i should change to get Mozilla working as the default browser? Or is this how Microsoft wanted things to work? To have IE work as default browser even though i removed it as well as access to it.

    It wud b gr8 if someone can give me the registry link.

    Also i Hate using msn plus tatz buggy
     
  2. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    maybe microsoft wants it that way. they remove it for user access but dont remove it for programs wich access it.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    beyondthegracefgod

    beyondthegracefgod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southside of >Heaven<
    Well the hotmail account can actually be opened using the Mozilla browser
    using MoDz like Msn Plus with a plugin called stuffplug NG from
    www.stuffplug.com.
    But this plugin and msn+ brings in a lot of spyware and a new set of problems.

    Well if tis plugin can do it, all it must be doing is changin a reg value or so.
    Tatz wat i want the direct SOLUTION.As i know it is not something IMPOSSIBLE.
     
  4. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    if ur really desperate and cant find ur answer on google, try looking thru the registry for 'msn' or something and look at each n every thing until u find one with a link for IE. replace it with mozilla. tho u mite not find it, its worth it if u really wanna use mozilla.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    beyondthegracefgod

    beyondthegracefgod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southside of >Heaven<
    Well i have done tat. The only hint in the registry is when i search for hotmail in it.All i find is some Hotmail control object

    Also something tatz more closer is My computer\hkey_local machine\software\clients\mail\hotmail\
    in this folder there is a value name: dll path which has value data : %ProgramFiles%\INTERN~1\hmmapi.dll
    Now how do i modify ne thing in this .

    Well as i said b4 its not impossible as stuffplug can do it .
     
  6. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
  7. OP
    OP
    beyondthegracefgod

    beyondthegracefgod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southside of >Heaven<
    Hey thx 4 tha support buddy.
    if some one helps me out in tis i'll surely gift him a good mp3 cd ya Dvd.
    Now ain't tat a hight of desperation.:)
     
  8. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
  9. OP
    OP
    beyondthegracefgod

    beyondthegracefgod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southside of >Heaven<
    I hav tried tat one b4 but it never worked 4 me.
    i cud never sign in with it.
     
  10. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
  11. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Hey beyond dude, i use stuff plug to open my email in firefox.

    And no, stuff plug does NOT lead to spyware.

    Ive been using stuff plug for a few months now, and i checked for spyware with Spybot and Ad-aware yest, and there waznt anyspyware.

    Maybe there was sumthn in the install, which prolly was ad-wareish. Like in the edonkey installer.
     
  12. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    oops i din c u alredy rote about msn+...but i use it and i got no spy/ad ware till now...u can use dis or stuffplug wich ice sez has no spy/ad ware
     
  13. OP
    OP
    beyondthegracefgod

    beyondthegracefgod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southside of >Heaven<
    Well stuffplug needs msn+ .and msn+ gives me problems.Well spybot did remove the popups nd stuff.
    But if u use zonealarm or ne other firewall ull know why i hate msn+.
    Whenever msn plus was on i get warning from different address.
    Well im not sure tat msn+ was actually coz of tat but strangely wen i removed msn+ my problems stopped.
    Well as i said b4 also tat change which stuffplug can do can b done manually too.
    How is tha Q ;)
    Juss kinda too inquisitive .
     
  14. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    hey i jus got 2 kno dat stuffplug was a plugin n i din no dat earlier...its good but wen i installed msn+ my homepage changed...jus came 2 my mind...so ur rite it does has adware...and also wen i removed msn+, lottsa spyware probs went away
     
  15. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
  16. OP
    OP
    beyondthegracefgod

    beyondthegracefgod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southside of >Heaven<
  17. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    well its good to no that u did find something useful.

    cheers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page