How do I install the SuSe 9.1?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by harpoon, Aug 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. harpoon

    harpoon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I try to install to install the SuSe 9.1 from the DVD ,a message pops up asking to open or save.When I click on "open", it asks for a programme to open the file or to search the web for a programme.It is an ISO file, so how do I open & execute the file?
    I have simply no idea about Linux so will some body please help me start from a scratch.
     
  2. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Burn the ISO image onto a cd.
    Boot ur system using this cd u created.
    N u ll get the setup menu with help pages.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    harpoon

    harpoon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    CANNOT BOOT FROM CD ROM.PLS HELP!

    Dear Amit,

    Thanks for ur reply; but even after I changed the first boot device to CDROM ,my PC restarts into WIN XP.I have one CD writer,and one DVD ROM drive.Please help!
     
  4. tushar_novice

    tushar_novice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saturn
    Excuse me. Is that CD a live CD `coz suse 9.1 comprises of 5 cds. Well I don't know about Suse `coz I use RH9. U should send ur problem to DIGIT.
     
  5. busyanuj

    busyanuj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    harpoon, it seems, you didn't follow Amit's suggestion.

    use Nero or some other cd-writing software to burn the ISO file to a blank cd-rom.

    then, boot your computer using that cd-rom to install SuSE Linux 9.1

    It is the Personal Edition of SuSE, that's why it comes in 1 cd, the other edition comes in multiple cds.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    harpoon

    harpoon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's the digit DVD of August.Yes, I indeed burnt the ISO file on a CD ROM, but even after changing the first boot to CD ROM in the BIOS,the P.C still restarts into XP.Help needed regarding thsi strange problem.
     
  7. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    well did u just burn that one iso file on it ? or did u burn it as an image?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    harpoon

    harpoon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I just burnt it on the CD? How do I burn as an image file?
     
  9. ujjwal

    ujjwal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Get a CD Burning software like Nero (most prolly your CDRW drive comes with one) load the software and choose the option of burning an image to the disk. Enter the location of the ISO file as the image location.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    harpoon

    harpoon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :lol: Got knoppix live CD up & running. Thanks to everybody who have taken their time to post me.Thanks once again.
     
  11. freshseasons

    freshseasons King of my own Castle

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Hey Dude....Where did u get Knoppix from......Is it bettern than Gnoppix ...?:)
     
  12. OP
    OP
    harpoon

    harpoon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :D It's on the August 2003 DIGIT DVD. It's really cool and there's no need to partition your HDD.
     
  13. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Dude
    Were u tryin to copy paste the img onto ur cd like ya
    do in explorer?
    Mate thats not what ya call 'Burnin an image'.
    Good to know u got ur knoppix live CD up & running.
    Enjoy ur linux expireance with knoppix and
    familiarize ur self with the tux.
    But with time u ll surely want a taste of the real tux
    which ya wont get with ur knoppix live cd.
    Hes very addictive.
    then its the right time to go for suse or redhat.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    harpoon

    harpoon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Amit.

    Dera Amit,

    Thanks for ur help. I will be installing Suse tomorrow & will be looking forward to your help in case of any difficulty.
     
  15. adityabakle

    adityabakle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Solapur
    Check this out

    Hello Amit

    It seams u have the same configuration as i do. I have installed the SuSe 9.1 on My system after Burning the IOS image to a cd. All i did is the following Steps
    1. Burnt the ISO Image to CD
    2. Restarted & loged into BIOS & changed the Sequence of Boot & made the CDwriter as the first Device to Boot.
    3. As i saved & restarted the system it Booted through the CD I followed the instruction & fot it installed.

    If still u r getting problem with the CD then make sure u have not Burned it with the speed above 32x. Coz its some time creates problem 4 those cds which r burnt above 32x speed
     
  16. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Write speed Shouldnt matter as long as the drive n the
    blank media are compatible.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page