How can i remove this.........

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by nipun_the_gr8, Nov 26, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Plz tell me how can i remove this from the start menu.........

    [​IMG]

    Thankx in advance........
     
  2. ujjwal

    ujjwal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you mean the scrolling menu which is presented when there are too many items in the menu?

    Open regedit (Start>Run>type regedit)
    Create a new string key in
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\
    Advanced]
    And
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\
    Advanced]
    called StartMenuScrollPrograms and give it a value of no.
     
  3. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    ??
    why mess with registry when the option is right there ?
    right click on ur taskbar => properties
    click on the start menu tab
    click customize
    then goto the advanced tab
    and disable scroll programs!
     
  4. lamrinnirmal

    lamrinnirmal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /bin/sh
    easier:
    control panel->taskbar and start menu->start menu tab->customize
    ->advanced tab->look for "scroll programs" and uncheck!
     
  5. lamrinnirmal

    lamrinnirmal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /bin/sh
    ahh.....the raven beat me.spammer.
     
  6. ujjwal

    ujjwal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well Raven ... hats off ... you see I use win98, registry is the only option there I think ;)
     
  7. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    ahh ..
    i just assumed hes using winxp since he didnt mention it
    either ways he has answers for both cases ;)

    i bow to registry gurus
     
  8. OP
    OP
    nipun_the_gr8

    nipun_the_gr8 Guest

    Still i can see the scroll bar.........
     
  9. go4inet

    go4inet New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    i guess everyone has his own right to post ?
     
  10. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Login as administrator for editing the registry.
     
  11. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    what the ... ??
    what kinda posts are u guys makin ??
    dadhwal if u have nuthin to say .. dont say anythign at all ..
    stop spammin
    i know ur excited abt ur post counts .. BUT POST COUNTS DONT MATTER HERE !!!
    the more u spam ... more ur reps go down
    ppl know who others are by the kinda posts they make ... STOP SPAMMIN !

    @amitsaudy .. the registry option is for dor win 98 ...
    for winn 2003/xp u can do it the way i said it
    therefore since 98 doesnt ahve anythign like admin.. theres no need to login as admin to edit the registry

    @lamrinnirmal i can see whos spammin and whos helping

    finally
    @nipun .. whats the matter ? which option did u try ?
    from registry or from taskbar ?
    which OS do u use ?
    dude give us more info man !!
     
  12. OP
    OP
    nipun_the_gr8

    nipun_the_gr8 Guest

    Well.....
    I use Win XP Pro. with SP2 & i tried both the options...........
     
  13. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    im sorry dude
    i tried it again and again
    its workin fine here
    i have no idea whats wrong with ur system
    do try posting ur HijakThis log file and ask it_waaznt_me for help !!
    if theres something wrong there he'll know !!
    i dun see any problem with the start menu option ! :(
     
  14. beyondthegracefgod

    beyondthegracefgod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southside of >Heaven<
    Tat arrow remains if ur in classic start menu.Try switchin over to start menu
    u can get on to it by right clickin on the start button then in start menu tab u c
    the 2 options.
    Athe guys abv said in customise u also c the option of scroll down.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    nipun_the_gr8

    nipun_the_gr8 Guest

    Yes, u r rite, beyondthegracefgod, i'm usin' classic style start menu. Plz tell me whether i'll be able to remove it in the classic type start menu or not. If yes, plz send the procedure also to do it...........
     
  16. beyondthegracefgod

    beyondthegracefgod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southside of >Heaven<
    Then the only soln is uncheck the Scroll Program box in the properties as raven said.

    rght click on start left click on properties click on the start menu then click on cutomise near classic in there u see option
     
  17. OP
    OP
    nipun_the_gr8

    nipun_the_gr8 Guest

    Whew...........
    I've tried EVERYTHING bt still everything remains the same..............
     
  18. OP
    OP
    nipun_the_gr8

    nipun_the_gr8 Guest

    Plz hlp me as soon as possible.....................
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page