1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

High temperatures with AMD 64

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by cyrux, Mar 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    Today I was playing NFS most wanted when suddenly i heard some noise from the CPU. I had to forcefully shut down the system. i thought it might be some dust related problems so opened up the cabinet and cleaned up the fan of processor. Then opened the system to find no noise. So i concluded that dust had been the problem. i started playing the game again. Then again i witnessed the same problem. I closed the game and opend a utility "easy tune 5" which is a hardware monitor utility. i saw the CPU temperature was 53 C (since its quite hot these days). The cpu fan was rotating at 5200 rpm which is quite high and was cause of the noise. Usually the fan rotates at 4500 rpm at max.

    Then i enabled the S.M.A.R.T. fam from bios and made some changes in utility that the fan would rotate with 100% speed only when the temperature reached only 63 C. At lesser temperature it would rotate at lesser speeds.

    Now my concern is that , with an AMD 64 processor is 53-55 C high ? I have witnessed INTEL prescott processors running a 60-70 C quite commonly. So is it really a prob ?

    My system config. AMD athlon 64 3200+ , gigabyte k8n51gmf9 mother board (Nvidia 6100, 430/410 MCP)
     
  2. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I also play NFS:MW and the AMD64 3000+ (overclocked to 2GHz) temp goes to around 49C but after I quit the game it quickly comes down to around 41-42. It has a auto threshold setting of 78C.

    I think 55C is fine but do find out the exact source of noise. What kind of noise did u hear?

    One more think during winter season the idle temp of my cpu were 33C and at load 41C.
     
  3. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    depends on a lot of factors

    Do U have cool & quite enabled, disable it, if u r overclocking..... & update your motherboard BIOS
     
  4. OP
    OP
    cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    No man , i m not into overclocking.
    @john. Even i use the get approx. same temperatures as you said. After playing the game it would be around 47-49 then it would drop to 45 but days are getting hotter here in hyd and today afternoon was really hot, so the temperature might have gone to that high.Reg. that noise i am almost sure that its from the fan itself.It could be nothing else. The fan was rotating @ 5200rpm which is very fast compared to values i get normally. I guess i need to get some heavy duty fans for my cabinet.Currently i have 2 normal ones which came along with the cabinet. I guess i shall also need one to blow the heat out of the abcinet More over i have no AC nor a cooler in the room . Just a celing fan.

    Neways what utility did u use for overclocking and whats your mobo
    err.. dont mind my ignorance but couldnt find cool & quite option in BIOS ?? Are you sure this option is there ???
     
  5. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
  6. darklord

    darklord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune,India
    Beware guys.
    Just keep in mind that the threshold temp for the Venice core based Athlon 64 is 65C.

    So even though your system wont act weird @ 55C,it is definately not a good thing to have temperatures hovering above 55C.

    This is gonna affect the life of the CPU.

    Just my 2 cents
     
  7. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    My mobo is ASUS A8N-E. The bios has the option for overclocking. During playing games the cpu fan's rpm is around 5000-5100 (during normal usage it is around 4200-4400), I am just able to hear a hiss sound, which is from the leadtek 6600gt gfx card fan and not from the cpu fan.

    @darklord
    Just curious, when I assembled my system the threshold temp value was automatically set to 78C but u say that it is 65C. In BIOS the when the Q-Fan option is enabled the threshold temp is set at 78C. By the way I have neither Cool & Quite nor Q-fan enabled.
    I have a AMD64 3000+ Venice stepping E6. Use ASUS Probe to monitor the temp and other values.

    Saw ur intel cpu overclock post, it's simply great.
     
  8. darklord

    darklord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune,India
    Well 65C is set by AMD itself

    If it reaches that temperature then it will automatically shut down the System to prevent the CPU from frying.

    Use cool n quiet only if you have a decent enough PSU.

    If PSU is cheap quality then there are chances that it might die on you.

    Aaah that Intel thing is just for TP re.Was bored yesterday evening so thought of giving it a try,it was casula attempt.
    Its in my Bitch PC so no worries if anything screws up.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    Err... I found the cool n quiet operation driver installed but cant find the application. Where do i find it ?? Cudnt find the software on the site for XP ..

    I dont think i will be able to run anyways, i have got a zebronics PSU 400 W which is. ....... ( do i need to say anything about zebronics??)

    I guess i need to add 120mm fans ... any idea about the cost ??
     
  10. darklord

    darklord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune,India
    go to BIOS enable Cool N Quiet.

    Boot into Windows.

    Right click and go to screensaver settings tab.

    Click on power tab

    Set power management to 'Minimal Power Management'

    This is assuming you have installed the driver.

    Thats it, your cool n quiet is enabled.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    I forgot to mention but cudnt find the cool n quiet option in the bios. More over as stated it works good for a good PSU but i have a zebronics one

    One more doubt , i thought there were 3 cores for amd athlon 64 winchester , newcastle and venice but i seem to have macnhester . Never heard of that . Its a code for the x2 processors... I wanted a venice but the bloody retailer gave me this one.... Any reviews about this core ???

    [​IMG]
     
  12. yogi7272

    yogi7272 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    vashi, navi mumbai
    if anybody decides to get a seperate cpu cooler then do consider ,

    COOLER MASTER ULTRA VORTEX - 1.7k - its athlon and intel socket 478 -- i am using it with 3.2 ghz prescoot 478 - temp has never gone above 50 degrees even in these summer days .. i think this thing will do wonders with athlon .. if u decide to go for a cooler .. as it is priced decently ..
     
  13. rulzwrld

    rulzwrld New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The best way i use to keep Amd kool is i have just kept the cabinet open even i dont have Ac's in my room .
    My AMD 64 bit 2800+ restarts manytimes i dont know i just ignore it saying as a bug ,,is it really a thing to maater much about???
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page