high compression

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by mak1012, Aug 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mak1012

    mak1012 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    hi!!! guys
    one of my friend got one GTA VC game in compressd form, this was 257 MB. but when i decompressd it came to 1.26GB how it is possilble to copmress so much???????? please reply as soon as possible thnx.
     
  2. Zeeshan Quireshi

    Zeeshan Quireshi C# Be Sharp !

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    well you see this , i have an archive that is 2.14 MB but it expands to 550+ MB .
    it contains Office 2007 Beta .
    it was compressed using KGB archiver .
     
  3. rakeshishere

    rakeshishere HELP AND SUPPORT

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i got a nfsmw image file in mdf format which was in rar..It was 850kb and i decompressed it and guess how much i got????....1.67GB...can any1 beat that?
     
  4. william

    william New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use kGb archiver or u can also use Winrar, its also good.
     
  5. rakeshishere

    rakeshishere HELP AND SUPPORT

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well what u said is rght but i dnt understand anything what u said
     
  6. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @ rakesh the mdf images store only the file structures not the entire data...

    and u can try kgbarchiver n 7zip for better compression....
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2006
  7. paul_007

    paul_007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    earth
    the 257 MB of GTA VC which u have seen is called ripped version of original vice city which are illegal........ in ripped versions many things are missing for example the cutscenes, backgrond music, startup videos etc, that is why their size becomes very small after compression.
     
  8. fatguysmart

    fatguysmart The Blessed one

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One confusion sir!
    Does that mean that use of KGB archeiver is Illegal???
    (I feel no, but still will be satisfied if you will tell me!)
    Thank You!
     
  9. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nah it aint illegal...

    Games have bloat data too, and easily compressible :)
     
  10. led_shankar

    led_shankar In Shamful Mystery

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    delhi
    omg does it actually work this well? And d'u ppl think it'll work on a tablet PC with 3Ghz and 512 MB RAM (i'm pessimistic)?
     
  11. go_gamez

    go_gamez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    navi mumbai
    Hey Whats ... A Tablet Pc...sorry Guys..i Ve Heard About..but Frnakly Spkin Dnt Knw Any Thin Abt It ??
     
  12. ninad_mhatre85

    ninad_mhatre85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i got that version of GTA VC 257 mb i d/w from local lan ....most of the times there is useless stuff with some other name ...thats way i didnt install it but i will try now.....
     
  13. led_shankar

    led_shankar In Shamful Mystery

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    delhi
    well, thanks guys, but problem solved, I tried it. It does work (i got a 55.5% compression on a 31MB pdf file)
     
  14. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @go_gamez - Thats awesome man! Read newspapers, Tablet PCs are ultra portable light weight PCs. They aint got to be folded like lappies and are just like a drawing pad.

    @led_shankar - I dont see why not, but the app must support the os maybe ?
     
  15. go_gamez

    go_gamez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    navi mumbai
    whats awesome ??tablet pcs or ...me not knowin abt it ..lol ??

    so is it mobile..means can i move with it..??does it look like ...a notebook..or a pc.anywayz i will search for a pic. in google..and have a look !!
     
  16. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not knowing it, well they aint really popular though. Toshiba has the best ones out there I heard, its only for the platinum rich ;)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tablet_PC Some good model pics there... Linux too :D
     
  17. led_shankar

    led_shankar In Shamful Mystery

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    delhi
    @go_gamez: A tablet PC (the wikipedia article has a pic of the exact same model as the one i'm using, rofl) looks like a notebook, but it has a pen-like stylus with which you can scribble on the display surface; and it will read input from this stylus. I think Digit had a 'whatever happened to' article on the Tablet PC sometime back.

    Now, before anyone starts calling me 'ameer baap ka bigda hua ladka', bear in mind that I do not OWN it, but it's from my Mother's office, rented for a temporary period only.

    @QwertyManiac (It's so much fun typing your nickname :D) : I asked that because I read that KGB takes a lot of resources, and that Tablets are strained for resources. THANKS though :)
     
  18. go_gamez

    go_gamez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    navi mumbai
    @qwertymaniac..i really like u r nick.../name...does it mean something..or relate..to??anywayz ...thanx for the info...

    @led_shankar... thanx to u too..
     
  19. led_shankar

    led_shankar In Shamful Mystery

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    delhi
    @go_gamez: ref. qwertymaniac's nickname. You must be knowing what maniac is. now look at the first six letter keys in the topmost alphabet row of your keyboard...that explains the first part.
     
  20. rakeshishere

    rakeshishere HELP AND SUPPORT

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does it mean i can take that 850 kb file in my floppy[i dnt use floppys but still if..] and copy it to another comp and decompress it will i get the same file size like i got previously
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page