1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

hibernate problem!

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by serendipiti, Dec 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. serendipiti

    serendipiti New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    asansol,West Bengal
    my sys specs are:pIII 966Mhz,Intel 810e mobo with on board graphics,256MB SD RAM,15 GB+ 80GB HDD and am running win XP Pro SP 2.
    I normally don't shut down my comp instead i use the hibernate option.
    Today suddenly when i put my comp on hibernate,on resuming i saw that i was led to the OS choice menu(rather than the familiar resume screen when resuming from hibernate).I rebooted and again hibernated but this problem did'nt go away...in fact the "enable hibernate"option is checked in the "power Options "settings and even the "Standby"button changes to "Hibernate" when I press the Shift key when pressing the Shut Down button and the comp in fact shows"Hibernating",but when I press the power button,I am again led to the "OS Choices Menu" and have to restart again.
    Please help as I really can't do without the Hibernate feature!
     
  2. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    Dude, exactly i dont know the soln to ur problem, but i want to add that everytime to hibernate, the last setting and other stuffs are saved in ur HDD. so every time u hibernate it keeps on saving the last thing and oops now it cant take in anymore....

    I really dont use the hibernatation, only if i really want to boot after a short period of time i do so.
     
  3. ShekharPalash

    ShekharPalash Web Entrepreneur

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    dude looks like ur Hybernation Data C:\hyberfile.sys is corrupted.... here C:\ is ur main drive... its by default hidden... so unhide all files first... okay...

    try to delete it... hmmm... as its system file so i don't think you'll be able to delete it... 'coz its in "always use" by windows...

    ok.. do this...

    disable hybernation from run > powercfg.cpl

    reboot....

    now enable.... it...

    reboot....

    now try to hybernate...

    what it will do actually is create a new Hybernation Data.... try this, hopefully it shud wrk... if not.. then report backhere ;-)
     
  4. OP
    OP
    serendipiti

    serendipiti New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    asansol,West Bengal
    tried it

    did exactly as u said ,but no luck!
     
  5. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Hmm.. After you delete your Hibernition data, CheckDisk and then Defrag your Windows drive ... When the Defrag finishes the data in your drive will be relocated so the chance of Hiberfill.sys in getting the same portion of drive will be minimized ... Try it ..
     
  6. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
    as suggested by batty .. may be ur drive is just too fragmented ..
    you can try to defragment your hibernate.sys file using PageDefrag
    its a small utility using which you can defragment your pagefile, hiberfil.sys and other system files which other defragmentors donot touch

    -----
    alibi
     
  7. OP
    OP
    serendipiti

    serendipiti New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    asansol,West Bengal
    tried as u say but no luck!

    hi guys thx for the quick replies,tried as u said but no luck so far!
     
  8. chetan

    chetan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    amreli
    hi
    1stcheck hibernetfile then scanthat file &else u have aback up then run it or that from power option is i think right way but why not proper i cant get it
     
  9. OP
    OP
    serendipiti

    serendipiti New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    asansol,West Bengal
    Solved

    well guys thx for ur mails but i decided to do a sys restore(had 2 reinstall a coupla apps though!)and hibernate's working fine.
     
  10. Maverick340

    Maverick340 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    c:\hyberfil.sys dosent exist!
    edit: Sorry :oops: had to eneble view hidden system files and not only hidden files..
    yea ,i jus delted the file and enebled hibernation.
    btw
    its hyberfil.sys...
    loadsoff ppl confused me by hiberfil.sys and hibefile.sys!!
     
  11. Maverick340

    Maverick340 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. Maverick340

    Maverick340 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Its hibernate,hibernation and hiberfil.sys
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page