Help.. Starting problem

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by SystemError, Aug 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SystemError

    SystemError New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa
    Can any1 plz tell me y does this happen..

    to start my pc i have to press the switch 15 - 20 times (turning it off n on - the UPS).. while the hdd red light glows n goes off.. after 15 -20 times doing this it finally starts normally.. could any 1 tell me the problem with my comp.. is it a PSU(Power Supply) Problem??? or sumthing wrong with my main board..

    btw specs..

    kobian Mercury mainboard KVM266PM
    AMD Athlon Xp 2000+
    128MB x2 266mhz RAM

    one more thing.. can this happen due to the Mainboard battery?
     
  2. OP
    OP
    SystemError

    SystemError New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa
    no solution to the problem???
     
  3. paul_007

    paul_007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    earth
    try running ur PC directly from the mains supply, i mean dont use ur UPS , if ur PC is still not running then there must b a problem in ur PSU unit
     
  4. Chirag

    Chirag bang bang!

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Vadodara
    It happens with me also. My pc starts after 2-3 trys and its coz of that cheap, bad performing Odessys SMPS and it started after my vendor change the SMPS after some prob. So I think its SMPS prob. only.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    SystemError

    SystemError New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa
    tx guys.. was wondering y wasnt ther a reply for almost 2 days.. i try the PSU if it has a problem
     
  6. paul_007

    paul_007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    earth
    did u try running directly from mains..
     
  7. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Get ur SMPS changed
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page