HELP!!!!!!!! Spyware?????

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by prajneet, Jul 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prajneet

    prajneet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    pls help guys
    whenever i connect to the net, an explorer window automatically opens and goes to the url something like rxbot.info.com/buzz.html and sometimes some adultbrowser2000.something... . also sometimes the ent just stops responding, whatever page i open, the moment i press enter, i get a msg "internet explorer could not open the search page", no matter what site it is. when i click ok, it says web page unavailable. and when i try to download anything, anything, with or without download accelerator, from IE or opera, it gives an error. also my norton antivirus has stopped functioning. It just doesn't start. I tried installing Spybot - Search & Destroy, and also Spyware Blaster, but spybot doesn't open and spywareblaster doesn't work without mozilla. pls help guys this is 2 much 4 me.
     
  2. subhro

    subhro New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Hi,
    Your system is infected by Spywares. Download and run all of these:
    • Spybot S&D
    • Adaware
    • The Cleaner
    • Any good antivirus like Bitdefender/Norton etc

    Don't forget to update each of thoes softwares before running. Google for the download links. All of them except the last one are freewares. After u have done it, if the problem is not solved then Download and run Hijackthis and post back the output

    Subhro[/list]
     
  3. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
  4. never_trust_any_stranger

    never_trust_any_stranger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Inside an AC cabin in hell.
    Hey
    Use CTRL+ALT+DEL and close all except explore and systray. Then start spybot, it will open.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    prajneet

    prajneet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hijackthis doesnt work. When i start it an error message flashes for a sec and then nothing happens.i managed to get spyware doctor .Surprisingly it indicates downlad accelerator as the most dangerous spyware on the system but i couldnt find the spyware which redirects webpages to http://fetish.adultbouncer.com/hot.html.What should i do?
     
  6. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Yeah ... Zam is right .. Close all except Explorer ..
     
  7. #/bin/sh

    #/bin/sh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    42.65 N 73.76 W
  8. It_is_Andrew

    It_is_Andrew New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    prajneet said
    The latest spyware blaster v 3.2 now supports mozilla/firefox.you can download it from http://www.javacoolsoftware.com
    But it would not help u much as it can pevent the installation of spywares but can't detect those who are already there.

    make sure u try what Zam & Batty said above .
     
  9. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Also scan for viruses!!!!
     
  10. lajs

    lajs New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does spyware blaster support opera browsers

    bcoz its mainly integrated with ie spy detection
     
  11. dinesh1

    dinesh1 Guest

  12. techie_it

    techie_it New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rite Here !!!!
    yes..buddy..

    Download latest SPY ware like SPYBOT..and clean them all..
     
  13. godzi_85

    godzi_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    format and reinstall :)... get a firewall first....or after you remove you spyware...
     
  14. walking-techie

    walking-techie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    a slon for ur woes

    looks like u hav spyware and viruses runnin galore on ur comp

    my suggestion

    first -->

    backup imp data
    do a clean - reinstall

    note that if u r on a lan be4 installin os disconnect lan cable

    aftre os install
    install an antivirus, firewall and spyware cleaner

    now connect to net install latest updates for windows version

    next time be4 installling a software see if it contains any additional utilites( see privacy policy carefully)

    Download accelerator is a popular spyware do not use it
    also p2p prog come bundled with spyware avoid using one which contains such files

    Second Option-->

    remove all software installed
    delete their folders
    check taskmgr see if any unwanted prog is running
    start msconfig.. in startup options uncheck any unwanted startup options check their paths as well
    go to those paths delete the files


    install a good antivrus, firewall and spyware buster .. regularly update it and schesule weekly scans of ur comp

    hope this helps solve ur problem
     
  15. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    also use some other browsers on windows xp like mozilla firefox..

    IE sucks a**
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page