Help Required

Status
Not open for further replies.

AssmbLLYCoder

Right off the assembly line
Well First of all I would like to tell about my self. I am an electronics engineering garduate and presently working. Also I do a bit of Assembly coding casually these days. Earlier I was working on VB and I am into System administration in windows from last 18 months or so but i am new to linux. Few months back I got the Anniversary issue of Digit that has got a linux DVD with four distros. I wanted to try each of them. I got Knoppix running successfully. Now I want to install one of those distros on my hdd. They are namely Redhat 9.0, Knoppix,Manderake (I don't remeber the version probably 7 or 8 or 9) and one more i think Suse. I have got the iso images on the dvd that i copied to my new 80Gig HDD. Earlier there was an article on digit's portal that guided on how to install from those ISO images but it has been moved now i believe. So if any body can guide me I would be helpful to him. and any suggestions regarding customizing the Distro for a great multimedia experience (@ present i m using a old machine Celron 800 320 MB RAM and onboard VGA with Graphics window size of 32MB :) ) are welcome. Also thanks in advance for any kind of help.

One thing more i would like to know that can i do assembly coding in linux as well or do i need some special software to do that.

Regards,
Assmbly Coder

ujjwal

Padawan
The guide still exists, you can check this for info.

But yes, the distributions provided in that DVD are a bit old, and newer releases are out that have better features and are easier to use. You can even get a distribution Ubuntu shipped to you for free.

ujjwal

Padawan
^ If by any chance he is using windows XP, he can use a bootable DOS floppy for the purpose. And also even if the distribution does not provide readymade dosutils, you can still perform a hard disk based installation from the iso file, check this.

OP
A

AssmbLLYCoder