help required with account privileges

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by drvarunmehta, Nov 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have a pc running winXP pro with a lan based net connection. at present all the administrator accounts can enable and disable the connection but the user accounts cannot. how do i give user accounts the permission to enable/disable the connection without giving them other administrator privileges?
     
  2. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    i dont think u can do it using win xp i also tried sometime ago...looked a lot on google but couldnt find anything....but maybe there are 3rd party softwares
     
  3. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Well the option is there right with xp. I didnt even google for this :)

    Goto Start -> Run -> gpedit.msc

    Under the Local Computer Policy:

    User Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Network -> Network Connections:

    In the right side, look for "Ability to Enable/Disable LAN Conection"

    Right Click -> Properties -> "Enabe" -> OK

    :)

    Btw, do play around with gpedit.msc when you have some free time ok, lots of nice stuff in there :)



    [​IMG]
     
  4. djmykey

    djmykey Let the music play.....

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    hey dexy i messed up wit my registry and now i cant see my frequently used apps any help
     
  5. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    thanks a lot man dexter ive been needing this for ages....but is it ok to mess around with gpedit.msc ? it wont crash my system or nething rite ?

    it seems djmykey had sum problem tho i donno with gpedit.msc or something else hes not specified but i think he means gpedit.msc only.
     
  6. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    @djmykey:

    in gpedit.msc, just go to -> User Configuration -> Start menu and Taskbar tweaks -> "Remove frequent programs list from the Start Menu"

    :)

    @ishaan.

    gpedit.msc is perfectly safe. Safe because you are only limited to those options that are present there. So you can always revert back to original settings. And since all the tweaks are properly categorised, you wont have any problem finding them.


    [​IMG]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page