Help required regarding handicam.

Status
Not open for further replies.

spikygv

Wise Old Owl
i bought a sony dcrhc17e 39e handicam . I am not able to copy the taped movies to my system . plz note that i am a noob. also , is there any soft that can live capture and encode directly so that i can save space , the soft that was bundled captures live but for 9 secs , it made 60mb file. alternative ??
and how can i copy the taped movies to hdd without burning ?

thanks in advance

janitha

Wise Old Owl
sagargv said:
i bought a sony dcrhc17e 39e handicam . I am not able to copy the taped movies to my system . plz note that i am a noob. also , is there any soft that can live capture and encode directly so that i can save space , the soft that was bundled captures live but for 9 secs , it made 60mb file. alternative ??
and how can i copy the taped movies to hdd without burning ?

thanks in advance
You should have received sony "Picture Package" software with your handycam. Though it is not a very good one, you should be able to record the video to your PC using it along with the USB cable supplied with the camera or a Firewire cable bought separately. Better still, use softwares from Adobe, Ulead, Pinnacle etc.
I myself use DCR HC-15E

nil_3

In the zone
Install a firewire card(costs Rs. 200/- to 2000/-considering local and branded ones) in your comp's PCI slot. Connect the cable to the hadycam's firewire/IEEE1394/i-Link port. Install Ulead video studio/Pinnacle. Now you can easily capture your taped movie to your harddisc.
Please note that in both the recommended softwares there are three formats for capturing---DV, MPEG 1 and MPEG 2. In DV quality approx. 4 minute movie will take 1GB space. MPEG 1 and MPEG 2 will take less space at the cost of greater capturing time. My advice is to capture in DV format and after necessary editing convert it to any format of your choice using the above-named softwares.

OP
S

spikygv

Wise Old Owl