help on upgrade ; what processor to chose ?

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by amritsingh87, Mar 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. amritsingh87

    amritsingh87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi , i'm planning to upgrade my computer
    its current configuration is :
    intel pentium 4 2ghz (notOC)
    ASUS P4S-333 VM motherboard
    512mb ddr333 ram
    80gb 7200 rpm hdd
    the mobo has an AGP 4x slot and i have ASUS GE-FORCE 4 64MB on it

    i want to upgrade it to be able to install 6600gt on it
    either somebody suggest a component upgrade or one of the upgrades from below:

    1-
    AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 939
    ASUS A8N-E mobo
    1 gb DDR ram 400 mhz
    ge force 6600gt 128mb PCIE

    2-
    INTEL PENTIUM-D 2.66
    2mb cache
    intel original motherboard (comes along with it as a combo)
    1 gb ram DDR2 ram
    ge force 6600gt 128mb PCIE

    my use would be basically playing games
    and try to keep the price low , but i'm not on a tight budget , just would like to save money .
     
  2. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AMD for games, look no further. :)
     
  3. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Amen to that!
     
  4. pickster

    pickster Professional Layabout.

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    BTW, isin't this in a wrong section?
     
  5. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, its reported tho... new members hardly care to read rules... :p
     
  6. ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
  7. ymhatre

    ymhatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, Vile Parle - East
    Offcourse AMD but go for 3200+
    cuz buying 3000+ or 3500+ both r useless considering Prices...
    Buying 3500+ is having too much prize difference though the performance is little more than 3200+
    while buying 3000+ is doing Foolishness
     
  8. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    AMD man
     
  9. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Get 2GB RAM...thats my advice ;)
     
  10. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    AMD FOR PC !
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page