help needed with avast antivirus

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by mandar5, Nov 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mandar5

    mandar5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    hi guys my friend says that avast can scan for virus when xp log in screen appears how to do that? thanks
     
  2. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    it can scan it before booting just select and sechdule a boot time scan
     
  3. Cool G5

    Cool G5 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    Ya.Just schedule a boot time scan & it will scan before XP boots.
     
  4. Tech Geek

    Tech Geek Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Hell
    that may slow down the PC
     
  5. OP
    OP
    mandar5

    mandar5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    thanks nishant n cool 65 thats what i was searching for just let me know how to do it:) THANKS
     
  6. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    open avast and then clic on the top left corrner for popup menu there select the option and restart

    @Tech Geek Can u tell me how a boot time scan can slow down a PC
     
  7. sree_shan

    sree_shan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    open the avast from start menu programs list ....
    and click on the left most top button ( generally it is used to open a file ) ... then menu list appears ... in that select schedule Boot-Time scan ..... and then click schedule ....
    thats it ur job is done ...
    hope this solvs ur problem....
    :) :) :)
     
  8. s18000rpm

    s18000rpm ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,608
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    what @Tech Geek tried say was, a BOOT TIME scan will SLOW down the Windows Booting (loading).

    that is , without the boot-time scan->say, it takes just 40 seconds for Windows to boot. now if u enable boot-time scan->it'll take anywhere from 2 Minutes to 4 minutes.

    btw, now a days, there is very very less Virus Threats which load(start infecting) on system start-up.

    my opinion, disable the Boot-time scan.
     
  9. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    It will scan ur system only once not all time before boot
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page