help needed for software project

Status
Not open for further replies.

adonis

Right off the assembly line
hi...i dont kno if this topic has been discussed,though i searched the forum before posting..
i am a 3rd yr mechanical engineering student and for my project this semester i want to make a dictionary of terms related to my field.it would be arranged in such a manner that if i perform a search for a specific term..it would return a no of results giving the meaning of that term.
someone told me that the best thing for this would be using visual basic 6..along with a database like microsoft access.but my problem is that i have never used it before.i have only one month before i can complete the project..max a few weeks more.
i would be very grateful if someone could guide me on how i should proceed..like which book i should consult..sumthng that will help me learn..but also help me complete my project in time.
if there is any other easier method i can use to make this dictionary plz tell me about it.i am very taken on this idea and i would be really indebted to the person who helps me realise it.
thank you..nd plz reply quick.

tuxfan

Technomancer
VB6 in 21 days.
More VB6 in 21 days.
VB6 Databases how to

Just refer to these books. If you know programming, you will pick up VB pretty fast.

OP
A

adonis

thnx for the quick reply tuxfan :) ..i'll starting hunting the coll library for these books.
can u tell me if these books are enough to grasp the concepts that are necessary for completing the project successfully?
its essential that i can implement the "search" capability in my dictionary..ie..retrieve the meanings of only those words that i want..instead of scrolling along to find it.does it require any advanced concepts of database and vb?
waiting for replies from others as well..
thnx

tuxfan

Technomancer
Access is somewhat an unusual choice. But since its just a college project, its ok :)