HELP!!! My Computer can't start

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arun Kumar

Broken In
Hey all,

I have Presario 3311AP, AMD Athlon XP 1600+ 1.4 GHz, 266 MHz FSB, 128 MB RAM, 40 GB Ultra DMA HDD, 52X CD-ROM Drive. On Start, my computer checks CD-ROM, Floppy Drive and then Hard Drive. From yesterday, it behaves strangly. On start, it checks CD-ROM and stops there giving three beeps. Beeps continues then and Computer don't start. I have to switch off the computer. :( Does I have problem with my CD-ROM or this is a some kind of Virus. Any Help will be highly appreciated. I am not a Computer expert. Please suggest a remedy.

Arun
Delhi

ferrarif50

Journeyman
Hi,

First of all count the number of beeps the computer gives.

Becasue the beep counts have unique reasons for it.

If the monitor is blank then, check whether ur graphics card is plugged in properly or not.

Go to the BIOS and change the boot sequence to 'C only'. Restart and try.

But tell me 'Is the montior blank or what does it exactly display?'

OP
A

Arun Kumar

Broken In
CD-ROM is giving three beeps, first two small and last big one. During beeps LED blinks and then it offs. After few seconds, again process repeats. The Monitor is totally blank displaying nothing. If I have to change sequence of boot from BIOS please tell me how. As monitor is displaying nothing and I am not aware of commands for that.

rajesh

Journeyman
Something is loose in ur system. :wink:

Anyway just take out ur graphics card and RAM out and plug it again properly.

FilledVoid

Who stole my Alpaca!
I dont know if this is true but I thought that the beeps were independant of Mothertboard or BIOS or something? This true?

Tech&ME

Banned
exx_2000 said:
I dont know if this is true but I thought that the beeps were independant of Mothertboard or BIOS or something? This true?

No beeps are not independent of mobo or Bios. Ask yourself where does the beeps comes from ?

OP
A

Arun Kumar

Broken In