HELP ME. tried everything, still cant fix my pc

Status
Not open for further replies.

kooki

Broken In
hey guys im no major expert on comps or anything but my pc's been giving me probs of late.

using a p4 2.8 intel 865gbf mobo 1 gig ram, 2x80gb hdd and as of now a 7300gt AGP card (fx5500 before but the fan came off)

the prob ive been having is that whenever i switch my comp on, the display never starts up. well, it starts up once in about 50 times for some odd reason. everything seems to be running fine, but the display never lights up. even with onboard graphics and agp disabled, i still have the same prob
ive tried everything, at first i had a fx5500 and the prob used to happen very rarely, but then my card's fan came out so it used to overheat and shut down.
i had major cpu overheating probs, so ive changed the heatsync and fan too. got a new AGP 7300 card cuz my old 5500's fan came out. it worked fine like twice, then the display stopped coming on again. i read that my card needed a min of 350 PSU so i changed the psu to a 460 watt one too. still not working. updated bios also it worked for 1 day with the bios update even formatted, the one time the display came on. no luck.

its a really weird problem and i hope u ppl can understand whats going on cuz its really hard to explain it. ill post more details if asked
pls help

Last edited:
OP
K

kooki

Broken In
u mean the brand name of the new psu? i think its an ibm one. not sure about the rest but i can find out and let u know.
i asked around a few technicians becacuse this prob is really wierd. ive ended up changing the AGP card, cpu fan cuz of overheating, PSU, tried to even boot up without hdd'd pluged in etc...