Help me to buy a motherboard....

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by shyamno, Nov 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shyamno

    shyamno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    guys I am having a P4 2.6 (northwood) GHz processor and intel 845 GV chipset motherboard.Now I want to upgrade to a new motherboard only(if possible) which will be compatible with my current processor and RAMs(266 Mhz and 333 Mhz).

    So please suggest any motheboard..
     
  2. assasin

    assasin Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Durgapur
    Why do u wanna upgrade only ur mobo?If budget permits get urself a C2D or AMD X2.If u still wanna upgrade only mobo buy a 865 chipset mobo.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    shyamno

    shyamno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    1.Currently my budget doesn't permits me to upgrade all the components incl. RAM( runs at (one module 256)266 and (another 128)333 Mhz),Hard disks (40GB ATA/PATA) ,processor and all.
    So considering not to change all the config which mobo will suit my condition(i.e low and mid end gaming)????

    secondly....

    if manage to extend my budget will be the best option in all the components i.e Mobo,Proc,RAM,HDD???????

    Please reply soon...
     
  4. Tech Geek

    Tech Geek Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Hell
    C2D for the motherboard E6300
     
  5. assasin

    assasin Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Durgapur
    If u cant upgrade ur full PC den get ur self Intel 865 mobo with 8x AGP slot.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    shyamno

    shyamno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Is 915 P or 915 PL suitable for me???

    Which one will be a better choice.
     
  7. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    ur processor is not supported by the above chipset
     
  8. assasin

    assasin Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Durgapur
    @shyamno U'll need a mobo for Intel 478 pin processors.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    shyamno

    shyamno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
  10. assasin

    assasin Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Durgapur
    I aint telling u bout Asrock boards.I was telling u bout Intel original mobos.personally i've used a Asrock board it sucked.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    shyamno

    shyamno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
  12. assasin

    assasin Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Durgapur
    Yeah u can buy dat mobo.Its a good one.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    shyamno

    shyamno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Hello guys

    Please help me in my query........

    The mobo which u all suggested and which I found are alright but but if the RATED FSB of my proce is 400 MHz and L2 cache 512 KB(found through intel
    Processor ID) and if I choose a motherboard having FSB of 533 or 800
    MHz...

    Then will they be compatible with the processor.. or then I have to change
    my proce also..

    another just for knowledge ....

    If the processor FSB is higher than the mobo can support,,, then will they
    be compatible..

    Please reply..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page