Help me on RAM upgrade

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by ansh, Sep 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ansh

    ansh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Guys,
    Wanted inputs on 'Corsair' RAM's as am planning to upgrade my existing RAM. I am looking at 1 GB dimms and the best ones hence i choosed ' CORSAIR'.
    Kindly share your experiences, in general, on the company and its products. Also which are the reliable sources to buy them in India ?

    Awaiting inputs !!!!
     
  2. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Corsair Value select is good memory.......And quite well priced.....It also OCs well...But its not very easily available....if u find...one then grab it!!
     
  3. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    Go for Kingston,it is worth.
     
  4. Kenu

    Kenu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Cosair .. is very good n reliable. can also try Transcend
     
  5. sysfilez

    sysfilez Welcome To The Jungle

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Living in a garbage can.
    corsair is good, u can get them at tirupathi enterprise. they are the distributors of it.
     
  6. monkey

    monkey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
  7. shaunak

    shaunak Tux Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Kingston is more easily available but cosair has better performing RAM chips. they have low latency models which will give you an significant performance boost. look for their 2 or 2.5 latency models.
     
  8. Kenu

    Kenu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    @ Guyz

    I have a question ..

    In India .. specially what I have seen in Delhi .. Nehru place etc.
    these sellers have no idea on Quality diff between Simtronics & Kingston etc. forget the latency etc. things aside, If u name them Transcend .. some say wo ab nahi aati .. what da .. or some say that desnt comes with warranty .. so if we are dealing with such a loosers .. what do we do .. !!

    So .. How do I make sure what latency ram am I buying ..
    All I can do is see the Packed RAM .. How do u guyz buy the low latency rams .. high speed ram etc.

    Please Reply
    Regards
     
  9. monkey

    monkey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Its true that you can't ask Nehru Place guys about latency. More than half don't even know what latency is. So best way is to find the specific model from the manufacturer's website and then look out for that model only. www.yantraonline.in (for Corsair) and www.theitdepot.com (for Kingston) gives you that advantage wherein u can see the complete details regarding the RAM and then choose the one you need. I have seen that prices on these online sites are sometimes cheaper (with bill ofcourse) than that found on the shops.
     
  10. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Their prices are generally much higher than those in the brick and mortar stores. Plus you have to pay 10% CST + shipping.
     
  11. monkey

    monkey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I think u got it wrong, janitha. I checked with local dealers and found that prices are either at par or below at yantra online. Also the prices mentioned at yantra online are inclusive of shipping. So it is a better deal.
     
  12. W i d e S c r e e N

    W i d e S c r e e N New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    I bought VS1GB400C3 about 45 days back, from Trivandrum for Rs.4750/-. At Yantra, it is Rs.6,765!
     
  14. monkey

    monkey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I don't think you are keeping watch on RAM prices. They have gone through roof in the past fortnight. Also did Rs. 4,750/- included tax?
     
  15. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    yes, recently I have not been keeping watch over Ram prices since my last upgrade was to 2x1GB.
    And yes it was with bill and Vat. And I got reasonable value for my 2x512 Transcend by way of buy back and had only to pay the balance. BTW the dealer is known to me for the past decade.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page