Help me improve my Ubuntu experience

Status
Not open for further replies.

alsiladka

Noobie Pro
Hello Guys,

I am new to the Ubuntu world. I do have time, but not enough to go through all the different guides and Wikis to get the best experience out of my Ubuntu experience.

I would like to take your help in getting the best out of it. I will ask whatever problems i have ask, but also request you to point out stuff by yourself which i should do to enhance Ubuntu.

Lets start with some basic trouble i am facing.

1. I wanted to install Firefox 3 Beta 2. I searched for some guide on the net, there was on with the Sudo codes for terminal. I tried that, but it always gave me the error that file not found. The error was valid, since i do not know where was i supposed to place the installation archive.
Please help me install it. I have the tgz archive.

2. The updates download takes place at a snail's pace. Is there a way i can download them in windows, some kind of repository or package?

3. Except for Beryl, what do you suggest would help me in improving the UI or display enhancements? I do not like the current theme a lot, it has a cartoonish look to it. Any way to change it?

praka123

left this forum longback
I am using Ubuntu gutsy running firefox3beta4preview release
1.get the latest firefox3beta and extract the archive to /usr/local directory.
DONT remove ur firefox which is installed via apt.
now make a shortcut on Desktop or a launcher in panel so that it focusses on /usr/local/firefox/firefox :)

u may need to copy the contents of /usr/lib/firefox/plugins to /usr/local/firefox/plugins//
*www.mozilla.com/products/download.html?product=firefox-3.0b2&os=linux&lang=en-US
compiz-fusion is what is installed in gutsy;not beryl

Rahim

Married!
You may try to change the server to India in Synaptic>Repositories option.
There was a breakdown in under-water cables , thats why there is slow ineternet connection, maybe this is the problem.