HELP ME! CAN'T CONNECT TO INTERNET!!!

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by sujithtom, Nov 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    I recently installed Fedora Linux Core 1. I configured everything and all installation went as smooth as possible but when I tried to configure to connect to internet I was puzzled :? :? :?
    My modem is D-Link Data/Fax/...... Modem and my internet connection is of BSNL. Anybody please tell me how to connect to internet through Fedora.... :)

    P.S GNURag.. Can i get your permission to republish this in the General section if I get no positive answers??? :D
     
  2. GNUrag

    GNUrag FooBar Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Interwebs
    Is it an Internal Modem? I hope its not...

    You can try configuring # kppp and select /dev/modem as the modem device... If it is an internal modem, then you have to download drivers for your modem chipset. Search Q & A section, there are many threads which have been replied in the past...
     
  3. OP
    OP
    sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    Yes it is an internal modem. I think the company is not providing drivers of Linux :-(
     
  4. nixcraft

    nixcraft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BIOS
    The FIRST step towards finding a Linux driver is identifying the modem's CHIPSET!

    How to find CHIPSET under linux?
    Use
    cat /proc/pci
    or
    lspci

    Next fire google.co.in/linux and search for linux CHIPSET modem driver; download; compilel; install and use the kppp or other .program to configur ISP account.

    For more visit www.linmodems.org
     
  5. GNUrag

    GNUrag FooBar Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Interwebs
    Ah this is what i had posted in Q & A section sometime back... sometime try searching this forum also...
    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8258&highlight=internal+modem
    -----------------------
    Internal Modems are not really true modems, in the sense that they use software instruction set to work... whereas external modems have firmware installed onto the chipset itslelf...

    Much more information or driver kits for particular chipsets can be obtained at:

    -> Taken From: linmodems.org

    * http://www.heby.de/ltmodem Lucent/Agere modem resources Manufacturer names of Lucent or Xircom may be displayed by the query "lspci -vv". These may be supported. The Lucent AMR modems are definitely not supported.
    * http://developer.intel.com/design/modems/support/drivers.htm Intel HaM driver
    * http://www-124.ibm.com/acpmodem/ IBM's Mwave modem driver for Thinkpad 600E and newer laptops. This is new modem card format, neither ISA or PCI.
    * http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/pctel-linux/ Jan's PCTel Resources
    * http://www.linuxant.com/drivers/ Linuxant offers the latest and greatest general purpose Conexant drivers for Linux.
    * http://walbran.org/sean/linux/stodolsk/linux111.zip Driver for ESS ISA Modems. Only for earlier 2.2 kernel versions.
    * For 3COM/US Robotics Inc. winmodems, drivers were NOT available as of May, 2001.

    For more information visit : www.linmodems.org

    You can also download and install the soft modem driver form the motorola website
    < http://www.motorola.com/softmodem/driver.htm >
     
  6. busyanuj

    busyanuj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    you can also refer to this thread for setting up D-Link modem:
    Code:
    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7084
     
  7. OP
    OP
    sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
    I still can't configure my modem. I dectected my system settings are :



    You know it directed me to a website saying it is the only place i can get driver for HCF modem. When I went to the site (www.linuxant.com, i think) they are asking me Rs 750 for the driver. The free version only allows 14.4 KB (Digit site may take hours to load). I can easily buy a Linux modem for Rs. 750 BUT will it be compactible in Windows??? I don't want to dump windows until I am used to linux and it may take more thn one year for it.
    Please somebody help me to get a free driver for HCF Rockwell Modem.
     
  8. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    sorry there is no free driver available i too had the same problem and as a final step i bought an external modem. The external modem (serial port type) do not require any drivers and are auto detected and work at full speed so i suggest buy an external modem say dlink and enjoy.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    Do you know the cost range???
     
  10. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    yes i bought it for Rs 1600/- a few months back its a dlink one earlier i bought a usb based st chipset hp modem but failed to install it.
     
  11. ujjwal

    ujjwal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey sujith I used the linuxant d rivers a while back ... despite the 14.4 kbps limit I got speeds of 2-3 KBps ... worth a try ...
     
  12. GNUrag

    GNUrag FooBar Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Interwebs
    hmmmm.... there's nothing you can do it seems.... you can get drivers from your friends or otherwise try out the 14kbps driver... TurboLinux 9 that comes bundled with Compaq PCs have internal modem RPMs included... i dunno for which chipsets it is meant for.... i have a look at it again

    Better than the best option, get yourself an external modem....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page