Help me build a PC under 70 - 80K

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by piyushp_20, Jan 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. piyushp_20

    piyushp_20 Geekologist

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Udaipur
    Hi guys

    I am planning to buy a high end PC.
    My budget is under Rs.70-80K

    Please suggest me the best configuation.
    My main purpose is Gaming and super fast computing.
     
  2. saurav29

    saurav29 Waiting for 3 Miracles...

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    go SLI and Quad core intel (Even core 2 duo will do), or dual core AMD absolutley rocks man buy sata2 or sata 3 hdd per (2 in number) and go for raid 5 to config the hdds and graphics cards 2 in number should be atleast 7300 GT or GS perrably with DDR3 rams, buy a pair of 1gb RAMs DDR2 atleast... if going over budget opt for pair of 512MB's instead... 16X DVD writer either ASUS or Sony..... Any decent Keyboard and atleast logitec mx310 mouse...... 17" or 19" (W)TFT samsung, LG , SOny (all have response time of 12ms)whichever appeals to you and seems affordable....
    And MOST Important thing...........
    Go for 500watts powersupply powersafe or local whichever you can afford and instead of cute looking cabinets assemble it in a big spaciuos and airy cabinet alternately you can also put one extra ventilation fan, though you should take care not to attach too many fans as above config will be power hungry and you will need all the power you can get.....
    This should take care of a PC you can game with in 70 to 80K
    hope it helps ya
    though this is not the best but works for me.............
    Peace
    Raj
     
  3. Ankur Gupta

    Ankur Gupta Wandering in time...

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Wrong section dude...
    Post in the hardware troubleshooting section...
    Thread reported
     
  4. wizrulz

    wizrulz GUNNING DOWN TEAMS

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MUMBAI
    AMD BASED=>
    Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (65nm,2.3GHz,512KB L2 cache,2GHz HT bus,AM2) Rs10300
    ASUS M2N32-SLI DLX Rs11500
    250 GB SATA2 Rs3600
    DDR2 2 x 1gb 667Mhz more if available 6K x 2
    2 x 256 MB NVIDIA GF 6600 GT DDR3 Rs6000 make it SLI
    SAMSUNG 19'' 940BW Rs14500/SAMSUNG 17" 740N Rs10400
    DVD WRITER BENQ 2K
    CREATIVE INSPIRE 5.1 Rs3800
    MERCURY GAMEPAD Rs650
    GOOD zebronics cabinet + 600W PSU=> 5K
     
  5. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    C2D E6600 16k
    MSI P965 Neo4 6.5k
    Transcend 2 GB DDR2667 RAM 10k
    Seagate 250GB SATA2 HDD 3.8k
    Asus/BenQ DVD writer 2k
    Samsung 940BW 14.5k
    Sapphire Radeon X1950Pro 14.5
    Cabinet+Antec 500W PSU 5k
    Logitech cordless kbd+mouse 1.7k
    Creative Inspire 5.1 3.8k

    Total Rs. 77,800
     
  6. sam9s

    sam9s The High 5 Flyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Delhi
    C2D 6600 ....OC it to 4Ghz
    P5B Delux Wifi or Gigabyte DQ6 (Awsome board)
    7900 GTX
    2 GB Transcend 800 Mhz RAM
    PSU 500W with a cooling system if OC to 4 Ghz

    rest you choose anything...the above 4 are sufficient enough to make a "Pump up the jam" kinda system.
     
  7. wizrulz

    wizrulz GUNNING DOWN TEAMS

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MUMBAI
    is not 6600GT in SLI gona give better performance than the suggested by u?? wanna verify
    __________
    WIth 4Ghz...he might need a very good cooling system....isnt it???
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2007
  8. sam9s

    sam9s The High 5 Flyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Nope 7900GTX is an awsome performer even better than 7950GT. SLI usually does not give you much better performence per price. Its more of an upgrade option rather than a move towards a high end gaming system.

    A decent cooling system will do. Check this out.

    http://www.coolermaster.com/index.ph...20/ R1 20
     
  9. caleb

    caleb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    How come no one suggested NVidia 8800, the only dx10 compatible card?...it costs Rs.34000/-
     
  10. Edburg

    Edburg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would recommend to buy a single more powerful graphic card than 2 less powerful cards in SLI.Both cost wise and performance wise a single powerful card is always better.Besides there are some games which really dont make use of 2 cards.

    C2d E6600 - 15000 approx
    Good overclocking mobo from asus or gogabyte -10000
    Ram - 2*1 GB from good company - 9000
    2*160 GB SATA2 - 5500
    19" TFT - 14000
    Rest accessories are ur choice
     
  11. abhipal

    abhipal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Graphics Card : Don't go for Dx9 Cards. Buy Dx10 Card 8800. If doesn't fit in budget wait for a month or two (atleast untill Dx10 is out).
     
  12. sam9s

    sam9s The High 5 Flyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Delhi
    34000/- is way too expensive, you have to wait ATLEAST 8 months maybe even more untill the card comes under any affordable range. There are not even any games on DX10 currently. I'd say go for 7900 and upgrade to 8800 maybe year and a half later. By the time the card would be much under range and there would be lots of game on DX10 as well to enjoy.
    __________
    LOL...what difference would come in a 34000 card in two months.....
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2007
  13. abhipal

    abhipal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry for my mistake. I was saying that wait for a month or two by then some new Dx10 cards can come in market
     
  14. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    My suggestion

    C2D E6600 ~ 14.5k
    ASUS P5B or Gigabyte GA-P965-DS3 ~ 8.5k
    2x1Gb DDR2 667Mhz Transcend ~ 10k
    Sony 120C ~ 1900
    19" TFT (this is your choice) ~ 14k

    Hard disk is again your choice, but I'd suggest a Raid 1 setup for higher performance.

    I will NOT suggest a DX10 card now, reason?
    well firstly most processors available now are not up to the power of 8800, so u will not see any noticable difference from a 7950GT, and secondly, a 7950 will push all the frame rates you require on a 19" screen, you need a more powerful processor and a bigger screen to make use of the power of an 8800, secondly, they are very costly now, with not much DX10 usage now, it makes no sense, better is get a 7950 now and then, sell it and get a 8800 when DX10 apps are out or u planning on getting another, larger screen. That time these cards will be a lot cheaper, especially after R600 cards roll out.
     
  15. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How will RAID 1 give higher performance?
     
  16. sam9s

    sam9s The High 5 Flyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Raid 1 is not for better performance Raid 0 is. Raid 1 is for better data security, as against Raid 0 which becomes a bit non reliable but with better performance.

    You must be kidding all current processors are well pumped up to handle 8800 easily. you dont know what you are saying.
     
  17. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Read performance is same as in Raid 0 setup, read can be done from both the disks, one is a mirror image of other.
     
  18. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats completely untrue. RAID 1 is slower than a single HDD due to CPU overhead involved and RAID 0 is much faster than a single HDD because half the data is stored on each HDD.

    Why would you recommend RAID 1 for a gaming rig? RAID 0, I can understand but why on earth RAID one?
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2007
  19. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I suggested Raid 1 because it has a higher data security, it is only costlier than Raid 0, because it provides half the space and no performance improvement in write speed. and if data is not the concern, raid 0 is better option. But it's not a "bit" unreliable, it's "VERY" unreliable. and I am planning on raid 1 for Myself.

    No kidding here pal, and i know what i said. If u play games at higher resolution, graphics cards are frame deciding factors, but if u play at lower resoultuons, the CPU is, and he is getting a 19" display atm. so my point is a valid one. I'll help you with some benchmarks. let me search.
     
  20. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why does a gaming rig need data security? For ordinary users backing up to an external HDD or DVD's is far better than setting up RAID 1.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page