Help in Ubuntu

Status
Not open for further replies.

hameed

Right off the assembly line
Hi,

I have two operating system in my computer one is window xp sp-2 and other is Ubuntu. Please anybody can tell me how can i see the hard disk in Ubuntu and how can i install yahoo messenger and msn messenger and other applciations and how can i make icon on desktop and how can i use USB flash devices.

Please I have lot of question about Ubuntu I am new in Ubuntu so please help me if somebody knows please dont give me a link for Ubuntu unofficial starter guide it will not help me.

Please anybody knows Ubuntu very well, kindly help me.

thanks,

mehulved

18 Till I Die............
Are you running Ubuntu live cd or have you installed Ubuntu?
What do you exactly mean by see hard disk?
You can use gaim to connect to yahoo and msn messengers or you can install yahoo messenger from messenger.yahoo.com and amsn mesenger from amsn.sourceforge.ner
Please take time and read the guide, you can't be spoonfed for everything. Linux is about exploring it yourself and learning.
The guid will answer most of your questions if you read it and implement it.

OP
H

hameed

I mean i want to see the hard disk icon in my computer like window xp and I install Ububtu in my pc thru cd.

Please help me if you can .

thanks

desertwind

Cyborg Agent
Why the hell you continue creating threads on same issue.

OK, let's try to solve your questions

1. To view your hard disk files on your computer, just double click the "Computer" Icon on your desktop, or goto "Places" Menu (On top panel) and click computer.

2. Yahoo! Messenger has got a linux version of it's own, but really is not a good software. MSN Messenger has no linux version, but many clones are available like aMSN. But i really suggest you to use gaim, the bundled IM software with your distro. It is a great software, supporting multiple protocols. Simply means that you can use your MSN, Yahoo! and GMail accounts with a single messenger.