sagar_coolx

Journeyman
i have bought the foll compopnents.
ath. 3200+
asus a8n e mobo
vip ii22 cabby+300w smps
2*512 mb ddr 400 ram
nvidia 6600 128 mb. gfx.

now the components are not connected. and i need nyour help in connecting them as i am not experienced in it.

my first question:
while mounting yhe mobo on the cabinet,do i need to add insulation(i.e. the foam sheet they provide in the box beneath the mobo or anything else???)
because i read the manual,that the underside of mobo should not touch the cabby.
but i see somesmall metal dish under the slot for proccy.s suppose it is for conductig heat. or is it for something else????then addding insulation will interfere it wont it????

i9n my old p.c.,they have added insulation. .but in my new cabinet.the holes for screws are a little raused,while in the old one,they were not.
so do i the foam sheet beneath my mobo?????

OP
sagar_coolx

sagar_coolx

Journeyman
also the board requres 24 pin connecter but the connector on smps is as follows:20 pin+4

*img59.imageshack.us/img59/7484/p10bp.th.jpg
*img96.imageshack.us/img96/1172/p21ge.th.jpg will this work???on my asus a8n-e???

Vyasram

The pWnster
No need for any insulation or foam sheet if u r gonna earth. I hav an a8n e board and i just did what they said in the mobo manual to assemble my system.

Vyasram

The pWnster
i dont think 300w will b enough for this system. Get atleat 350/400 w. I think this ps is not compatible with ur mobo unless u use a 20 to 24 pin converter (not recommended especially for ur system) . By the way , the 4 pin connecter u r talking abt is probably the atx12v connector and must be connected in the 4 pin connector at the top left of the mobo near the ps2 ports.

sagar_coolx said:
also the board requres 24 pin connecter but the connector on smps is as follows:20 pin+4

*img59.imageshack.us/img59/7484/p10bp.th.jpg
*img96.imageshack.us/img96/1172/p21ge.th.jpg will this work???on my asus a8n-e???

Yes.

john_the_ultimate

No pain....No gain