Help 4 setting up New HDD and DVD ROM

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by Thor, Oct 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Thor

    Thor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Hi Mates,
    Today I bought Seagate Barracuda 80 GB +7200 RPM HDD [for Rs. 2900] and a Liteon DVD-ROM 16x Drive [for Rs. 1750 >Black].
    I already have a 40 GB + 5400 RPM Seagate baaracuda HDD, LG CD-ROM Drive 52x and Samsung CD-ReWriter 40x-12x-40x. I have Intel 815e Motherboard with 1GHz celeron Processor. Runnning XP. Let me know how should i Connect the DVD ROM and HDD For Max Performance!!

    --
    Thx in adv.!!

    :)
     
  2. JAK

    JAK What the Heck !

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ask Me !
    Hmm...

    Well i wud suggest that u connect them as follows

    Pri. Master = 80GB HDD
    Pri. Slave = 40GB HDD

    Sec. Master = CDRW
    Sec. Slave = DVD ROM

    Since u also has a CDROM.. i dont think u'll be able to use it since u'll hav only 2 IDE channels.so u will hav to ditch the CDROM drive... :wink:

    practically there is no performance difference btween master/slave so u cud switch the CDRW and DVD ROM positions unless ur CDRW faces some probs gettin detected


    Its nice to be back.... :wink:
     
  3. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    i would recomend
    pri master 80gb
    pri slave DVD
    sec master cd
    sec slave 40 Gb
    why?
    better throughput while copying CD on the fly, better IDE channel utilisation by the HDDs
     
  4. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    would using a 80 conductor ide cable for this config give udma 5/6 for the hard disks and keep udma 2 for dvd/cd ? or would they all work under udma 2 ?
     
  5. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    i use a similar setting and use a 80 con cable on both ide channels and get ultra dma 5 on both hdd and a pio for the opti drives
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Thor

    Thor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Thx,
    Will my Motherboard Support Raid 0 ?
    What is it actually?
     
  7. superwiz

    superwiz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    More information read this
    http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/if/ide/conf_Performance.htm

    Well this make me change my setting to all optical drivers on secondary IDE channel, unlike what u hav mentioned :lol:
     
  8. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    See the daye of the site
    The PC Guide (http://www.PCGuide.com)
    Site Version: 2.2.0 - Version Date: April 17, 2001
    © Copyright 1997-2004 Charles M. Kozierok. All Rights Reserved.

    thats history, use the setting i suggest and use a utilit like hdtack to do a throughput test you will see what i mean.
     
  9. nishantv2003

    nishantv2003 We Both Have a Mouse!!!

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    M.P.
     
  10. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    - how have u physically connected the 80 con cable to both drives . normal way would be

    blue -> m/b , grey -> optical , black -> hdd right ?

    my cable isnt that long and hdd and cdrom too far apart so i had to reverse it

    blue -> dvd , grey -> hdd , black -> m/b .

    and with this i get the 80 conductor missing error even with an 80 con cable
    plus hdd works only in udma 2 setting .
    i am unable to use ide controller 1 koz drives connected to it keeps disappearing so i have only ide controller 2 to attach both drives and i want hdd to work with udma 5 .

    - if i get a pci ide controller , would i still be able to boot normally with a bootable cd by the boot sequence in bios ? or will the cdrom detect only after i load the os
     
  11. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    see the red wire or the narked side this is the pin one aline this to the pin one on the mobo and on the drive side it is towards the power socket also one pin in the connector is blocked i hope the insertion is right. The connector i use is from a compac m/c and i have an ibox cabinet where the wire length is fitting ok.
     
  12. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ide connectors are keyed connectors . it works fine except i cant get udma 5 when i use it with a drive on same cable , if it is connected without a drive i get udma 5 . anyways any idea on how much pci ide controller costs ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page