heellp!! xp lost its mind

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by rj2k, Aug 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rj2k

    rj2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi,guys and the few gals!
    my xp has stopped listening to me!

    if i change my folder icons through folder properties,it accepts
    but then after i close it they don seemed to have changed at all!

    also if i configure xp to open new folders in the same window,then also they don open in the same window!!
    any solutions??

    i am putting these dum emoticons to annoy yu all!!
    :D :) :( :eek: :shock: :? 8) :lol: :x :p :oops: :cry: :wink: :roll: :twisted: :evil: :!: :?: :idea: :arrow:
     
  2. Moin

    Moin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VNS India
    Same problem here... Anyone listening???
     
  3. OP
    OP
    rj2k

    rj2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    come on guys!! wots takin u all so long????

    do u think i shud ask in the microsoft forums???
    i am a member there!!
     
  4. JAK

    JAK What the Heck !

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ask Me !
    hmmm...

    Refer:

    Code:
    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4164&highlight=folder+options
    .......... :wink:
     
  5. OP
    OP
    rj2k

    rj2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanx a lot jak!!!
     
  6. prathapml

    prathapml New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I found a related quote somewhere:

    "Asking windows to shutdown is not a command anymore, it is more of a request - it might, it might not!".

    ROFL.....
    The same state in which many of us here are, huh?
     
  7. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I dirty reinstall should help u, or else a format n reinstall..
     
  8. OP
    OP
    rj2k

    rj2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well, did not work with me!
    any other solutions???
     
  9. OP
    OP
    rj2k

    rj2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    YOu! raaabo consider helping???
     
  10. walking-techie

    walking-techie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    TRY TO INSTALL A NEW EXPLORER.EXE
     
  11. FunkyB

    FunkyB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    in the twilight zone...
    how does one install a new explorer.exe...??? isnt that a windows core process...i mean wont windows just hang up or something if i stopped or interrupted explorer.exe...?
     
  12. thinkmms

    thinkmms New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    india
    everyone listen procedures........

    hey, first thank god for making me live to answer your question.
    if xp does not remember ur folders settings as you wish , do this...
    open explorer >> tools>folder options>view> and uncheck remember each folders view setting
    now everytime you choose folder view option it stays......
     
  13. OP
    OP
    rj2k

    rj2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that's one of the dumbest questions i have heard!!!!
    well, windows keeps a backup or copy of explorer.exe somewhere....
    so even if u deleted it, nothing would happen coz a new one would appear!!!! :twisted: :twisted:
     
  14. walking-techie

    walking-techie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    u can download a good version of explorer.exe from a frnds pc

    just replace existing one from its location
     
  15. Arachnid

    Arachnid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    hey rj! so i see you here too huh? Who you bugging this time now? And is that raaabo you asked help from? LOL. This is too funny...talk about poetic justice!

    And i really dont think you can just copy/paste a new explorer.exe

    and BEHAVE!
     
  16. OP
    OP
    rj2k

    rj2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    as u say, my lord!!
    and u can paste another explorer file after stopping the process!!
    just press ctrl+alt+del and end process.then go to tha menu, press run and type cmd! then copy the new explorer file from wherever u kept it from the command prompt!!
    then go to run again in the task manager and type explorer.exe
    and as the digit ppl say- voila! u got a new explorer!!

    hoot!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page