HDD THRESHOLD EXCEEDED

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by bipin_hbk, Oct 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bipin_hbk

    bipin_hbk Guest

    I am having a hdd problem from few days

    On startup it says "SMART THRESHOLD EXCEEDS"
    Press F1 to continue

    Is there any way i can get rid of this and get my perfect hdd back.

    I know you can help b'coz u only got back my old hdd that had Bad sectors after your advice of low level formating it is working fine and perfect.

    Help Me Pls.!!!!!!!!
     
  2. Kshipra

    Kshipra New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beyond You...
    who ? when? where?

    which os?

    describe ur post... poori kahani?
     
  3. FunkyB

    FunkyB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    in the twilight zone...
    i think u hav SMART enabled in the bios and seems that ur HDD is on the verge, so u keep gettin the warnin. me thinks its about to die...of course the pros will be here to aid u shortly...;)
     
  4. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Ok...

    U could try this.

    1. A low level format
    2. If the drive is in warranty, take it to the dealer and tell him the drive fails during the smart test
    3. Try HDD regenerator/ Spin Rite 6.

    Umm, cross ur fingers and hope for the best.

    Btw install Drive Health or active smart , any one of them. on ur pc, and figure out which smart value exceeds the limit.
     
  5. sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    Strange error. U must have edited the BIOS??
     
  6. demoninside

    demoninside New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dehradun
    Nops dear it's SMART comes only when ur disk is going to die, so go for
    >>>>> CHANGE IT IF UNDER WARRANTY
    or do any thing but guess it will dye soon so disable SMART
    least that massege wouldn't show again.
    can use spinrite 6.0 , but before go for one lower level format
     
  7. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Sorry, you cant do anything. You can remove that message by disabling SMART from the bios, but like demoninside said, its going to die, and soon too. Its best that you quickly save the data that you want from your drive and get it replaced.

    Believe me, its not worth it to continue further with this drive.

    [​IMG]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page