HARDWARE SUPPORT REQUIRED ! can u DIG it ???

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by suhas_sm, Sep 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. suhas_sm

    suhas_sm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    My hdd works as fine as nething when i connect it to my friends PC ( boots,loads os,wors properly)
    But when i connect to my System - compaq 7000 presario

    Problem:
    Case1:
    :arrow: my bios detects my hdd as 10 gb or 40 gb sometimes
    :arrow: next step no operating system found on any drives
    Case2:
    :arrow: if i use a bootable it says couldnt register
    (it states the reson as follows:
    1. non-dos fat
    2. third party partion manager used
    3. virus attack)
    :arrow: Fdisk
    Case4:
    :arrow: knoppix
    what i could do to help troubleshoot:
    :arrow: changed the data cables , changed the bios battery.
    :arrow: fixbmr,fixboot
    :arrow: formatted in my system as well as my friends pc
    can u diagnos it n tell me what the problem could be ???
     
  2. OP
    OP
    suhas_sm

    suhas_sm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Any help would b appreciated ! some one ! ne one! ne sugestions ????? :(
    me in a desperatre situation now :roll:
     
  3. sidewinder

    sidewinder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Bengal
    Almost same happened with me!!!!! I had to change my bios.Get ur mobo checked quickly.And if the repairing cost is too high go 4 a new mobo.Good luck!
     
  4. indro

    indro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata
    u need to upgrade your computers bios , thats the bottom line !
     
  5. OP
    OP
    suhas_sm

    suhas_sm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    well i think the prob is with primary disk controller... :) well that means my mobo :(
     
  6. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    check cables , switch ide on m/b ie, from IDE 1 to IDE 2 , change jumbers to cable select . Try detecting them in the bios . connect without a cdrom or slave . try manufacturers disk fitness test . u can check smart status of the disk that way and run short or long surface test through it . most HDD have ontrack disk manager , so u can backup mbr too . try removing any other components like usb devices , nic etc . Some hdd have limitation jumpers . check that out . try connecting both cd/hdd on same cable , on ide 1 and ide2
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page