1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

HARDWARE SUPPORT REQUIRED ! can u DIG it ???

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by suhas_sm, Sep 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. suhas_sm

    suhas_sm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    My hdd works as fine as nething when i connect it to my friends PC ( boots,loads os,wors properly)
    But when i connect to my System - compaq 7000 presario

    Problem:
    Case1:
    :arrow: my bios detects my hdd as 10 gb or 40 gb sometimes
    :arrow: next step no operating system found on any drives
    Case2:
    :arrow: if i use a bootable it says couldnt register
    (it states the reson as follows:
    1. non-dos fat
    2. third party partion manager used
    3. virus attack)
    :arrow: Fdisk
    Case4:
    :arrow: knoppix
    what i could do to help troubleshoot:
    :arrow: changed the data cables , changed the bios battery.
    :arrow: fixbmr,fixboot
    :arrow: formatted in my system as well as my friends pc
    can u diagnos it n tell me what the problem could be ???
     
  2. OP
    OP
    suhas_sm

    suhas_sm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Any help would b appreciated ! some one ! ne one! ne sugestions ????? :(
    me in a desperatre situation now :roll:
     
  3. sidewinder

    sidewinder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Bengal
    Almost same happened with me!!!!! I had to change my bios.Get ur mobo checked quickly.And if the repairing cost is too high go 4 a new mobo.Good luck!
     
  4. indro

    indro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata
    u need to upgrade your computers bios , thats the bottom line !
     
  5. OP
    OP
    suhas_sm

    suhas_sm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    well i think the prob is with primary disk controller... :) well that means my mobo :(
     
  6. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    check cables , switch ide on m/b ie, from IDE 1 to IDE 2 , change jumbers to cable select . Try detecting them in the bios . connect without a cdrom or slave . try manufacturers disk fitness test . u can check smart status of the disk that way and run short or long surface test through it . most HDD have ontrack disk manager , so u can backup mbr too . try removing any other components like usb devices , nic etc . Some hdd have limitation jumpers . check that out . try connecting both cd/hdd on same cable , on ide 1 and ide2
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page