hard disk best options <<<

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by underearth, Jun 14, 2006.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. underearth

    underearth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi there whats up..
    its very very techy forum.. and all because of you guys..

    i came from graphic field and have to do lots of rendering work. today at 7 am i got some strange noise coming out from HDD and i crashed my 3rd HDD its segate baracuda 80gb sata 72k rpm..

    not crash it works but at very very down read and write speed.. ts useless now i am working on backup disk now.. .
    i wnt blame segate 4 that as i am heavy user and pc was on for last 9 hurs and i was getting heavy renders..phew..

    now what i want to ask is i want some really stable HDD .. it shud be sata interface..
    about 160 gb or so maybe less.. price is issue but.. stability and reliability is most important...

    i cant go for raid.. i have 915 GLD board i don't know if raid will work..
    but 4 know advice me for fast but stable hdd brand and model..
    i will either buy it from delhi or chandigarh...

    pour ur advices..

    a big thanks to u guys
    sunny
     
  2. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Go for Hitachi 120 or 160GB sata ones. U can get a 160 for less than 3800/-.
     
  3. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    ya me also want to buy a SATA/SATA II HDD. Budget being 5K max. My mobo is ASUS A8N-E. Please suggest.
     
  4. wizrulz

    wizrulz GUNNING DOWN TEAMS

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MUMBAI
    For 5K u can easily go in for 160Gb or more SATA drive forn WD and if not that then Seagate....
     
  5. OP
    OP
    underearth

    underearth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow what is this new thing sata 2..
    would these hadd would be available in market..
    segate's india hdd mentions
    :
    1) model ST3250623NS
    NL35 Series 250 GB SATA 1.5Gb/s 7200 RPM 8 ms avg

    2) ST9120821AS Momentus 5400.2 120 GB SATA 1.5Gb/s 5400 RPM 12.5 ms avg NPC

    so how and where to get and find sata 2 hdd..

    and is momentus out in market i think still barachuda is in market..
     
  6. OP
    OP
    underearth

    underearth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what about WD 100k rpm hdd
     
  7. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Seagate 160 Gb Sata 2 is available for as low as 3600 nd with an 8mb buffer. Decent perfomer too.
    Sata Hdd has the theoritical speed of 150MB/s nd Sata2 has 300MB/s. But when the perfomance nd realtime datatransfer rate is concerned 150MB/s is more than enough.
    @Underearth
    Its not 100k but 10krpm. They are called WD Raptors nd has extreme perfomance nd would be overkill in terms of price. Even an 80GB costs above 6k. I reccoment u to add 2x160 Seagate SATA2 in raid 0 nd in effect u get 320GB with an effective speed of 14.4k rpm nd at cost of 7200.
     
  8. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Could someone please specify the brand and model name/number.

    @aravind_n20
    So do u think, I should buy SATA I or SATA II. Also the price and performance difference between them.
     
  9. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    As bout perfomance both Sata nd Sata2 are similar in Perfomance but where much higher data tranfer is necessary like sata raid(2in raid0 or 4in raid0) Sata2 might be helpful. Seagate Sata2 HDDs are good nd comparitively cheaper. As I said 160GB sata2 with 8mb costs only 3600/- or even less nd carries 5yr warranty as usual.
    As price diff isn't much go for Sata2 nd they have some interesting features like hotpluging onto mobos with nf4 or 945 or above chipset mobos(Wonder who wanna take out the HDD while system is on??)
     
  10. sourav

    sourav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar, Orissa
    main hoon naa
    listen if you have hot p[lug harddisk support, so you can bring your friend's harddisk which also has hot plug can plugin to your computer without giving any problems.
     
  11. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    I think most of us would turn off the PC even if its hot plug-able inorder to avoid problems, anyway nice features.
     
  12. santu_29

    santu_29 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    the same problem happened to me also, my segate 80gb 7200rpm hdd was replaced 3 times, seems segate is having problems with its 80gb hdd, after that i bought a new WesternDigital hdd, its working fine now.... check it out, they are giving 5years onsite warranty...
     
  13. sourav

    sourav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar, Orissa
    Does anyone know that WD has his branch in Bhubaneswar or not?
    Nowadays I starting to hate Seagate hard disk.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    underearth

    underearth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay if i got two sata 2 hdd ..
    how can i make raid 0 with them..
    i have 915 GLd motherboard.. is it possible to do it in same motherboard.. i know nothing about raid..little insight on how to do that..

    and is SATA 2 available in WD also or is it segate who have sata 2 in india..

    so man how raid works?

    sunny
     
  15. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    SATA 2 is availble from all popular brands like Seagate, Samsung, Hitachi, Maxtor, Western Digital etc. I dont think as of now there is any noticeable or measurable difference between 1&2. But I think only SATA 2 supports Native Command Queing (NCQ). Still it is better to go for SATA 2 if your Mobo supports it since since it is the newer technology and there is little difference in cost.

    Regarding Raid, refer
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Redundant_array_of_independent_disks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page