half KDE half Gnome..help!!!

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by bharat_r, Aug 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bharat_r

    bharat_r New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    I was exploring SuSe 10.1 which had KDE
    I ran the Search for files(Nautilus Search too)l which was located under
    K-Menu->System->File manager

    and from then on my desktop became half Gnome & half KDE & it looks bad...
    See Pic:
    [​IMG]

    How do I revert back to full KDE desktop..

    Please Help!!
     
  2. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont understand, what so GNOME in this? :\
     
  3. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    U can select keramik menu or any other from kde control centre that'll solve yor probs.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    bharat_r

    bharat_r New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    See the way the icons are...
    & Konqueror is not being used to display folder contents when I click bharat's home on the desktop but uses it when I clik on the home icon next to K Menu

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2006
  5. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    lol harsh, give another look at the screen, he's task bar is KDE but his his desktop is GNOME desktop. Icon for home folder is a dead give away of gnome.
    I have faced this with xfce too. Just open the terminal and type
    Code:
     ps auxw | grep metacity
    You will get two entries something like this
    Code:
    mehul    [b]28954[/b]  0.0  1.2  15620  9472 pts/1    S    01:37   0:12 metacity
    mehul    14266  0.0  0.1   2860   780 pts/0    S+   10:04   0:00 grep metacity
    
    Now issue this command
    Code:
    kill -9 28954
    Replace 28954 with whatever number you get which I have marked in bold in the output.

    And, you Konqueror only under KDE, in fact I find it as the best file manager, it can do a lot more than what nautilius can do.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2006
  6. OP
    OP
    bharat_r

    bharat_r New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    I'm getting no such process:

    & I got only 1 entry not 2....
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2006
  7. technomodel

    technomodel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata
    have you tried killing and then restarting X?..or else rebooting?

    that should solve your problem..
     
  8. OP
    OP
    bharat_r

    bharat_r New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    I'm not able to kill atatll..I says no such process.
    Also tried restarting but it starts in KDE & immediately switches to Gnome
     
  9. technomodel

    technomodel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata
    i dont understand...
    u mean it is showing the KDE splashscreen and then going back to gnome desktop? or is it showing this mixed desktop again?

    try
    CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE..
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2006
  10. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    OK post the output of
    Code:
    ps auxw
    .
     
  11. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    @Tech_your_future, Looks like this guy (@Bharat) is running KDM & GDM simultaneously!!
    I have never seen a Linux desktop like this!!
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2006
  12. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Your KDE session manager has saved Nautilus process and is autostarting it when you login to KDE. Instead of looking for metacity, look for nautilus using the command "ps auxw | grep nautilus" (without quotes) and then kill it.

    Alternatively, you can pass the command "killall nautilus" (without quotes) to stop the nautilus process.
     
    bharat_r likes this.
  13. OP
    OP
    bharat_r

    bharat_r New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Thanks eddie!!!
    It worked & I've got rid of the ugly gnome!!
     
  14. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    lol!!! Beware dude...you might get assaulted by the GNOME lovers :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page