"hal.dll" file missing

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by roxisayshi, Feb 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. roxisayshi

    roxisayshi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lucknow
    hi friends
    today when i started my computer i got the error msg :-windows can not start .the file hal.dll either missing or corrupt.reinstall dis file.

    i do not want to format my computer as i hav some important data stored in my windows drive.neither i want to install fresh copy of the windows as my other partitions hav less free disk space(i cannot format them to lose all my data).

    i hav also tried to repair the windows but unfortunately i hav forgotten my admin pwd .the account which i was using earlier was not admin but it had all rights of administrator(full access).

    so guyz plz help me.
    thax in advance.
     
  2. dada_patekar

    dada_patekar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Guess Where I Live ?
    sun

    yeh website ''www.dllfiles.com'' ke paas sabhi dll. files hain. yahan se install kar bhidou.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    roxisayshi

    roxisayshi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lucknow
    windows cannot be started without dis file ,so how can i install buddy???
     
  4. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
  5. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    u need to boot from the Windows XP bootable CD, then select repair with recovery console, & there u can scna for & revart all the replaced system files

    in case U can boot in safe mode, go to run & type

    sfc /scannow
     
  6. OP
    OP
    roxisayshi

    roxisayshi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lucknow
    thax guyz for the help but the problem remains......

    to vicky:-the link u provided is gud but the problem is dat i hav forgotten the admin pwd so i cannot complete the step-4 under "resolution" section given in dat link......
    previously i hav been using another local administrator account so dats why i hav forgoten the main admin pwd...

    to saurav:-i hav tried to repair the windows as well but it asks for the admin pwd which unfortunately i hav forgotten.....
     
  7. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    Give following command in Recovery console:

    fixmbr
    fixboot

    Sometimes it helps!
     
  8. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    There r some another way to getrid of admin password.But dont ask here and me try by google............
     
  9. KHUBBU

    KHUBBU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try to get the admin password , its ur only way to get ur
    data back. If its asking u for the password, then it can be fixed by the method given on MS site, in worst cases it doesnt even recognise any Xp installation and u hav to reinstall thw whole thing
     
  10. OP
    OP
    roxisayshi

    roxisayshi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lucknow
    i suppose the only way is to try to recall the pwd else everything will be lost..... :(

    neways ,thax for ur suggestions friends....
     
  11. shwetanshu

    shwetanshu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi/Bangalore
    damned i just had the same error on sunday morn... i formatted my whole PC... i cudn even boot into safe mode... no boot disc worked for me
     
  12. KHUBBU

    KHUBBU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it a seasonal error or what, :shock: I too suffered coz of this last week !
     
  13. h_kunte

    h_kunte New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur, India
    I had this similar problem of the hal.dll file getting corrupted a few months back...As gxsaurav suggested, you have to use a boot CD to install ur OS but even the "repair" option doesnt work very well in most cases....In the worst possible case, be ready to lose all the data which was there on the main boot partition....Coz in my case, elthough I had chosen the "repair" option, a fresh copy of windows was installed & it wiped out all the data which I had on my desktop & in "My Documents". ....

    HK
     
  14. shwetanshu

    shwetanshu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi/Bangalore
    well there is one thing u can do to back up ur data. get a Linux Live CD which boots without installing OS and also reads NTFS partitions, then burn a CD of ur important data.

    or

    take ur HDD to ur frnd house, connect it to his comp as secondary, then burn ur important data.... i did both the things.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    roxisayshi

    roxisayshi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lucknow
    ohh atlast i formatted my computer.i just cannot live a single day without my machine....
    thax shwetanshu for help , i will follow ur instructions the next time i face dis prob
     
  16. OP
    OP
    roxisayshi

    roxisayshi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lucknow
    guyz i hav new problem with my computer ....
    plz refer to my new post under dis secton only.
    seems something wrong with my system..... :(
     
  17. Padikkal

    Padikkal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kannur, Kerala
    hal.dll is 129kB size on my system, if this is same for all systems why you cant replace the same in system32 folder? It is there in driver.cab file.

    Boot the system using a floppy or a CD then copy the file from other system to system32 folder and try??

    feedback..
     
  18. OP
    OP
    roxisayshi

    roxisayshi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lucknow
    i hav checked the size of hal.dll in my friend's pc.it shows
    80 kb .so i think it is different for different sys.

    but again how can it be different?????
     
  19. Padikkal

    Padikkal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kannur, Kerala
    My file version is 5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158). Xp sp2.
    You can simply try by replacing it.
     
  20. mario_pant

    mario_pant New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mushroom KiNGDOME!
    ok, now here is the most simple explanation to this....
    get the hal.dll file
    from here just to be sure:

    then goto http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
    get the basic version... burn the ISO...
    copy the hal.dll file to a floppee, then use boot in Dos mode from that disc.... then copy the hal.dll file from the floppy to the system32 folder..

    then boot!

    or simply rip the disc.... take it to a pal's house copy the hal.dll file to system32 and bring back and boot!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page