Gmail & Office Outlook

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by tomjacobm, Dec 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tomjacobm

    tomjacobm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alwaye,Cochin,Kerala
    Guys

    I recently tried gmail and liked it so much that I intent to make it my default mail account. But when I tried to synchronize my gmail account to my office outlook by creating a HTTP type account, it asked for a server URL. Can any one help me by providing the required URL?

    Thanks
     
  2. serendipiti

    serendipiti New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    asansol,West Bengal
    easy!

    firstly you will have to enable pop access in settings options in g
    mail,then follow the steps mentioned in"configuration of e-mail
    client".or better still you can download the automatic account
    configurer(this has a link in g mail itself)which will easily configure the
    Outlook account for you!
     
  3. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Just a word of caution from me. Gmail is still in beta. Don't rush and make it your default account as yet. Let it come out with its first version and see what services remain free. Let it settle down and only then think about making it your default account.

    As regards POP3 settings, login to your gmail account and click on what's new (or something similar) on the top right had corner. There you will find all the info required including how to enable POP3 access and how to set ot up in Outlook.
     
  4. krazydude

    krazydude New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Follow me and I shall set u free
    BTW when is g-mail planning on finishing this beta testing and coming out with a full working version
     
  5. hitesh_hg

    hitesh_hg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NCR
    Well being beta or alpha version makes no difference...

    usa.net was an alpha version before all the free services were completely shut down..
    yahoo used to provide free POP access...

    I believe google beta means only for the bugs and error..not services..

    Hitesh
     
  6. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Being in beta means they have to keep it free. If they demand payment who will agree to try it out? But as soon as they are confident of its working, they may demand payment. You never know. So I advise people to wait for some time and then make it their default mail accounts. Changing default mail accounts is a hell of a task, especially if you have given it to a lot of people. So caution is better. Look before you leap ;) At present you can't have a look at every possible scenario, so don't leap :) :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page