1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

gharelu sampark mein hamari kripya madad kijye!

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by satanlair911, Oct 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. satanlair911

    satanlair911 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hello there!

    I'd like 2 know the best network (read a LAN) which suits our specs given below.We r abt 2 install a network providing connectivity 2 all the residents in the hostels.

    specs
    place:nit jalandhar punjab
    area:154 acres
    no of computers:abt 350
    distance frm server:abt 300 metres average
    terrain:plain
    geography:light vegetation
    net feed:via a radio link on 100 mbps line
    price:not 2 high but bandwidth can't b compromised

    any other facts or approach 2 this problem would b welcome
    would b very very glad :D if an expert would look in2 this request.
    (read this is a humble request 2 the team digit)

    thanking u,
    waiting fr replies.

    chao!
    satan
     
  2. club_pranay

    club_pranay Nokia 7110 to iPhone 5

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  3. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    no other way but internal wiring ( or external ) using cat5 like club_panay said .
     
  4. indro

    indro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata
    the only recomended distance of a cat5 cable is 100 meters but cat 5 works without any problems at 150 meters ,anything more than that , you have to put in a hub or a switch .
     
  5. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    come on guys its a big project dont cut cost go in for an OFC (monomode ) based solution (ie layer three switches with OFC connectivity) with a two wan two lan sisco router.
     
  6. indro

    indro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata
    IF monet was not the problem , then i would go for the 7500 series internet router and all switches layer 3 and a 802.1g cisco wireless router ,with high performance AP's thought the area , take a 512 kbps RAW connection and 1.544 mbbs(T1) burst :)
     
  7. OP
    OP
    satanlair911

    satanlair911 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys for all the help.
    I'm glad u guys helped.
    Now I'll put the suggestions forward to the committee working on the project.
    I'm a touch disappointed :? coz nobody frm team digit responded,
    anyway i guess they r 2 busy since they've 2 bring out a cool new Digit every month.

    Thanks everybody.

    Adios!!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page