1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Gentoo 2006.0 x86 livecd installed to hdd,now few doubts....

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by praka123, Apr 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    Hello All,
    I installed gentoo for the second time(first was 2004.3) using Live cd after selecting only GRP packages to install using Gentoo gtk installer giving all CFLAGS,MAKEOPTS etc for my prescott.now i am having gentoo with gnome fine.my problem is i need to install net-config and many other packages.Installer copied all these packages from livecd to /usr/portage.in 2004.3 it was copied by me to /usr/portage/distfiles.now if i try emerging amy packages,gentoo tries internet and i am not having ppp rp-pppoe etc not installed.so gentoo geeks help me to install all these packages for my standalone system without internet using available packages in /usr/portage.Since i dont know much about portage.. :)
     
  2. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    There are two ways to install from packages
    a) Copy all the packages you want to install to the PKGDIR directory which you must have set in make.conf and then give the command
    Code:
    emerge -K <package name>
    That is capital "K" in there. This way emerge will fail if it doesn't find dependency packages in the PKGDIR.

    b) If you don't want to copy all the packages to the PKGDIR then you export the PKGDIR variable temporarily and make it point towards the directory which is holding your packages, like this
    Code:
    PKGDIR=/mnt/cdrom/package emerge -K <package name>
     
  3. OP
    OP
    praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    Now what is those in /usr/portage dir lot of like app-accesibility,app-admin,app-shells etc...and here is my make.conf generated by livecd not the general way of gentoo setup.
    Code:
    # These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
    # Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example
    #CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
    CFLAGS="-march=prescott -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
    CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
    CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
    MAKEOPTS="-j3"
    ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=""
    USE=" X alsa apache2 apm arts audiofile avi berkdb bitmap-fonts bzip2 cdr cli crypt ctype cups dba eds elibc_glibc emboss encode esd ethereal exif expat fam fastbuild foomaticdb force-cgi-redirect fortran ftp gd gdbm gif glut gmp gnome gpm gstreamer gtk gtk2 gtkhtml guile idn imlib ipv6 jpeg kde kernel_linux lcms libg++ libwww mad memlimit mikmod mng motif mozilla mp3 mpeg ncurses nls nptl ogg opengl oss pam pcre pdflib perl png posix python qt quicktime readline samba sdl session simplexml slang soap sockets spell spl ssl tcltk tcpd tiff tokenizer truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts udev userland_GNU vorbis x86 xml xml2 xmms xsl xv zlib"
    FEATURES="ccache"
    
    i am ready to have packages be copied to gentoo /usr/portage/.. dir.
    In gentoo 2004.3 i remember copying packages to /usr/portage/distfiles dir.but here i dont find any packages dir in gentoo2006.0 Live cd.only a portage snapshot available.whether i need to build using ebuild(which i yet 2 try!)..
    emerge gives error when i try:
    Code:
    localhost ~ # emerge bash-completion
    Calculating dependencies ...done!
    >>> emerge (1 of 2) app-shells/bash-completion-20050121-r10 to /
    >>> Downloading http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles/bash-completion-20050121.tar.bz2
    --01:56:52--  http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles/bash-completion-20050121.tar.bz2
               => `/usr/portage/distfiles/bash-completion-20050121.tar.bz2'
    Resolving distfiles.gentoo.org... failed: Temporary failure in name resolution.
    >>> Downloading http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo/distfiles/bash-completion-20050121.tar.bz2
    --01:58:04--  http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo/distfiles/bash-completion-20050121.tar.bz2
               => `/usr/portage/distfiles/bash-completion-20050121.tar.bz2'
    Resolving distro.ibiblio.org...
    
     
  4. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    You must have downloaded the CD with GRP. Just mount that CD. You should have all the packages in there. Export the PKGDIR like I mentioned in 2nd point and install the packages with -K switch. The K switch is a MUST or else portage will try to grab sources.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    I have a gentoo 2006.0 installed on my hdd(reminder) using Installer script from livecd sessionI have these in my gentoo live CD: a snapshot dir carrying portage-20060123.tar.bz2.I know that this is extracted to /usr/portage.IS this source packages which we need to compile using ebuild.samples of what i found on /usr/portage is lot of sources.

    I am saying i already have a working gentoo 2006.0 x86 on my hdd with gnome using livecd's installer.There is no package CD for x86 for v2006.0 .now unlike other types,In /usr/portage you will find ebuilds...what are they..what should i do to able to install them,is there any command which displays all installed softwares..
    here is an example package i have in /usr/portage:
    Code:
    #cd /usr/portage:
    ls
    --(lot of o/ps)
    #cd app-shells
    ls
    ----(lot of o/ps)
    I selected bash-completion folder:
    #cd bash-completion
    ls
    
    Changelog, Manifest, bash-completion-20050121-r10.ebuild,bash-completion-20050721.ebuild,metadata.xml are present also the dir "files" with lot of other related named files inside
    also i've got /etc/make.global having these lines already set:
    Code:
    # Default rsync mirror
    SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
    
    # Default distfiles mirrors
    GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo"
    
    # Repository Paths
    PORTDIR=/usr/portage
    DISTDIR=/usr/portage/distfiles
    PKGDIR=/usr/portage/packages
    RPMDIR=/usr/portage/rpm
    
    # Temporary build directory
    PORTAGE_TMPDIR=/var/tmp
    
    # Fetching command (5 tries, passive ftp for firewall compatibility)
    FETCHCOMMAND="/usr/bin/wget -t 5 --passive-ftp -P \${DISTDIR} \${URI}"
    RESUMECOMMAND="/usr/bin/wget -c -t 5 --passive-ftp -P \${DISTDIR} \${URI}"
    
    # Default user options
    FEATURES="sandbox distlocks"
    
    # Default chunksize for binhost comms
    PORTAGE_BINHOST_CHUNKSIZE="3000"
    
    # By default wait 5 secs before cleaning a package
    CLEAN_DELAY="5"
    
    # By default wait 10 secs on an important warning
    EMERGE_WARNING_DELAY="10"
    
    # Automatically clean installed packages after they are updated.
    # This option will be removed and forced to yes.
    AUTOCLEAN="yes"
    
    # Number of times 'emerge --sync' will run before giving up.
    RSYNC_RETRIES="3"
    
    # Number of seconds rsync will wait before timing out.
    RSYNC_TIMEOUT="180"
    
    # Minimal CONFIG_PROTECT
    CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc"
    Help me Dosts/nanba's/buddies!
     
  6. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    ok so i downloaded the live CD contents file, just to see what it is doing. i m sorry for not being on the button earlier.

    the thing is that there are no separate packages (GRP) available for x86. when you are installing from live CD, portage makes all the packages, at that very minute, from the live CD environment and then installs to your hard disk.

    now to install these ppp/rppoe packages, you have to either make packages by booting into live CD or download sources from a PC that has an active internet connection. copy packages in /usr/portage/packages/All while you need to copy sources in /usr/portage/distfiles.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    thanks.i manually downloaded a lot of ! packages along with rp-pppoe to /usr/portage/distfiles and i set my adsl connxn.now i can start adsl-start,and net is there,i can ping dns server,but cant get connected!.i tried adding default device as ppp0.but no avail.friends please help me get it right..Thank you All! below is console log:
    also i dont find net-tools or? some command to configure eth0,although it is configured during install..help
     
  8. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Did you put nameserver in /etc/resolv.conf? Looks like it is unable to resolve host names.

    As for your second question, emerge livecd-tools and use net-setup command to configure your eth0.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    Thanks.is there any need to set router's gw ip also(192.168.1.1)
    And i mean "net-setup"? missing command which allows you to setup your network,for which-package needs to be emerged..
     
  10. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Gateway IP is a must in case of eth0 connections so you should mention it when you set up this connection.
    To get "net-setup" command on your system you need to emerge livecd-tools package.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    Thanks.now i have gentoo with genkernel compiled ,now want to know how to set default locale for the system.also is it possible to make initrd image of compiled kernel
     
  12. OP
    OP
    praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    I solved locale problem by adding my needed locales to /etc/profile.env file
    export LC_ALL='en_US/UTF-8'
    export LANG='en_US/UTF-8'
    but initrd..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page