GEFORCE 2MX400(8mb of 64mb)?and overclock.?

Status
Not open for further replies.

harish_21_10

In the zone
Hi,
I have a GEFORCE 2 MX400 ,64mb but memory size shown in the display settings is 8mb. :( what thes problem?why is it showing 8mb instead of 64mb?pls help.
And also I am new to overclocking,actually never tried it, i wanted to know if it is safe to overclock my geforce 2 mx400 from its display settings?if yes,then how much?

OP
harish_21_10

harish_21_10

In the zone
My card's core clock frequency is 200mhz and memory clock frequency is 143mhz.
I raised it to 278mhz and 212mhz respectively and tested from the option given there nothing happened,but dint apply it.Then i raised the core frequency to 300mhz and the system got stuck and had to be restarted.
Does this mean that i can overclock the card to ,core fquency:278mhz and memory frequency:212mhz, without damaging at??

darklord

Cyborg Agent
Well lets consider that your card doesnt offer hardware monitoring features.
so you can check temp. of your grafix card RAM by touching it and the heatsink over the GPU to feel about the GPU temperatures.

I hope this helps.

OP
harish_21_10

harish_21_10

In the zone
can i use any software for the temperature analysis?which one?

i also had q question about my cards size,it shows 8mb in the display settings instead of 64mb.???

grinning_devil

Cyborg Agent
:arrow: update ur gfx card drivers...

:arrow: u sure that its memory as 8 or is it 8X as interface???

:arrow: as amey said...chek ur BIOS...its possible that like onboard shared memory u may be having option of selecting the VRAM...

nd lastly....where ru viewing this 8MB??? :?: :?: :twisted:

OP
harish_21_10

harish_21_10

In the zone
update ur gfx card drivers...
I have latest drivers installed for my card
u sure that its memory as 8 or is it 8X as interface???
It is 8mb memory and 4x interface.I am SURE!