g800gs to 6800gt........

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by anilthomas26, Sep 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. anilthomas26

    anilthomas26 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i saw this post somewhere which stated tat i cud convert my 6800gs(agp)....to a 68000gt by unlocking two pipelines using rivatuner,,,,,,,,,

    i got riva tuner and it shows tat 2 pipelines have been masked.........

    i wud luv to unmask them.....but it wud affect my gaurantee right ????

    and if i do unlock it....will it damage my card.......

    here is the link....

    http://www.aoaforums.com/forum/hardware-hacking/35737-mod-your-6800gs-agp-ultra-extreme.html

    also it says tat if it doesnt work backup the process..........i can do tat.....

    but ma question is.....will it damage my card ?????
     
  2. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you don't do it right it could damage your card, and yes, you do lose you warranty once you go through with this.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    anilthomas26

    anilthomas26 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    but there is nuthing much to do.....

    jst unmask two pipelines using riva tuner,,,,,,,wat cud go wrong ????
     
  4. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    provided both are standard specs and 256mb, gs may be the way to go
     
  5. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Just oc your GS..its far less risky than to unlock the pipes.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    anilthomas26

    anilthomas26 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and cud u tell me how to oc ???
     
  7. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    unlocking isn't harmful .. if things go wrong , u'll just get a bsod ... then boot into safe mode , and uninstall the driver , and / or wile booting hold down control ...

    Also .. i've heard that most of the nv40 GS's are unlockable .. so make sure u have the proper core before u do anything wrong .. google a bit for some successfull OC's ...
     
  8. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Do like this:
    start/run nd type
    REGEDIT
    navigate to
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak]
    right click on right open space nd create a new Dword value nd give it a value 3 and name it CoolBits
    close everythin nd see the nvidia control panel for new overclockin tab. Do small increments-say 5mhz. U can surelly do bout 50mhz on core nd 100mhz on mem. After that do some 3~4 mhz per increment nd try running heavy games for min 20min.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    anilthomas26

    anilthomas26 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and...if i overclock or unlock the pipelines/........wud i require any cooling systems ???


    i wud rather prefer the unlocking process.....

    and overlocking.........wud it damage the card ???
     
  10. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Now yaar...todays cards are biult for overclocking. Ask deathvirus_me bout the safe oc clocks of a 6800GS.
    I run my 7600GT at 600/1500 from its stock 560/1400, nd no probs. U just have to make sure there is good air flow in your cab. Im using xtra 5x80mm fans in my cab as Ive oced my, GPU,CPU and also memory by big margins.
    Just place an 80mm fan on four screws on the bottom of cab facing the card nd should blow air into the card. U can do much higher clocks.
     
  11. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Well , the nv4x cores can run pretty hot .. i've seen 6800GT's run stable at 90c , 6600GT's at around 95c .. and even seen some damm oc'ed GS's touch 80c ... so u can experiment a bit ...

    But even then make sure u have good airflow in the cabinet ...
     
  12. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    I can't believe it...95c...My G72 had not yet crossed 58c nd even Im afraid.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    anilthomas26

    anilthomas26 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    proper core...????

    i dint get ya......:d
    __________

    i did this.....and an extra tab named "clock frequency settings" opened up

    it says core clock frequency = 400mhz

    memory clock frequency = 1.1ghz

    shud i just increment a bit each.......nd how much ?????

    and the important thing ......will my gpu burn out or something ?????

    is it reversible ???
    __________
    sry but one more......

    can i unlock the pipelines and overclock at the same time ????
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2006
  14. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Ya its reversible. first di some 20~30Mhz on core nd some 50~80 on mem nd play some heavy game for 20min nd see if there is any aartifacts or any hangs. If its ok u can go on with the setting or try some more oc.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    anilthomas26

    anilthomas26 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey i tried unlocking the pipelines.....

    wheni unlock the pixel pipelines........the screen is full of artifacts..so i had to disable them.....but i did enable the vertex pipeline........

    so now i have 12pp and 6vp......

    and now i am gonna overclock it.......
    __________
    overclocked to 425mhz/1.15ghz.......

    shud i do more ???????
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2006
  16. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Well every core is different ... my nv42 goes about 70c under max load ... even though its a 130nm manufactured one's ... older core's can go even higher ...
     
  17. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Y my old MX440 is just hot as a diesel engine. And even then it has no heatsink but only a fan. It can't say the pemperature-but Im sure it was above 100.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    anilthomas26

    anilthomas26 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so.....shud i go for more ?????

    and shud i fix some new fans or something ?????

    and wat is stock cooling ???? and how much will it cost ????
     
  19. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    stock cooling is the cooler thats already covering the ram and core of the card ...

    And , some additional fans would definitely be a good thing to do ..
     
  20. OP
    OP
    anilthomas26

    anilthomas26 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    80mm ya 120mm ????

    actually i have left ma cpu cover open !!!!

    shud i try overclockin some more .....now its at 425/1150.......(400/1100)...

    i wud like to......but the prob is tat.......i will di it only if it is a bit safe....coz if i burn this one out i wint get a new card in the near future.....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page