=== Full GPRS on Reliance Smart AND Aircel:===

Discussion in 'Mobiles and Tablets' started by Tech.Masti, Jun 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tech.Masti

    Tech.Masti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ( 22.2° N, 88.2° E )
    I am from WB. In my town Reliance Smart service just started 2 days ago. I try to find out about its GPRS service on its website, and failed. I unable to find out any official site of Reliance Smart:mad::eek: . If anyone know about its GPRS services ( like unlimited GPRS on PC, free portel like Airtel live), please inform me. i asked local dealers, they have no idea about Smart GPRS.:eek:

    Also heard that Aircel will be launch in 1 month. i find nothing on Aircel site about GPRS charges:eek: . (They just give 1 line information that they have GPRS & EDGE service, that's all, nothing more.) Please also inform me if you have any idea about Aircel GPRS charges.

    Thanks in Advance.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2006
  2. ctrl_alt_del

    ctrl_alt_del A Year Closer To Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I am from Bhubaneshwar which had Reliance Smart from the time cellular service was launched. It doesn't yet provide GPRS facilities. Nor will you find an official website. Your best bet is to look for a special dedicated retail outlet of Smart. They might be able to answer to your queries better.
     
  3. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Reliance Smart does not offer GPRS until now.And they have no official website for their GSM service.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Tech.Masti

    Tech.Masti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ( 22.2° N, 88.2° E )
    So Smart does not support GPRS:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: . Any idea about AIRCEL?
     
  5. niku_19jan

    niku_19jan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    now smart provides gprs if u recharge with gprs voucher.
    but u hav to do monthly recharge.
     
  6. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    ^^ You just digged up a 18 months thread...
     
  7. drrevv

    drrevv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup its available nw on smart...no edge though(shame...shame)

    aircel has edge bt they only provide aircelworld till nw no access to other web pages.
     
  8. Tanmay Satpathy

    Tanmay Satpathy Sing Along Samsung

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    Smart provides GPRS access in Orissa, but the speed is pathetic.

    No idea about AirCel
     
  9. mechanix

    mechanix New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Reliance sucks..it doesnt even accept my Iphone for GPRS here in Orissa
     
  10. mdasique

    mdasique New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    I have Reliance Smart connection and able to get internet on my laptop using GPRS. Speed is quit good, satisfied.
    But the problem is I am not able access any email client, chat client like AOL, Yahoo etc. Also I can not connect my office network using VPN client.

    Earlier I was having Airtel GPRS and they had all facilities.

    I believe there must be some ports blocked on their network.

    Does anyone have answer to solve the issue? I think customer care reps. have lack of knowledge about port settings.

    Thanks and regards,

    Md Ibnul Asique

    Hooghly/W.B.
     
  11. gauravakaasid

    gauravakaasid Back to l33ching :)

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Latitude: 22° 32' North. Longitude: 88° 22' East
    ^^Ibnul....how did you connect to net thru laptop? I am using SE W810i...what are the settings and steps to be followed? I am clueless about it all. I have taken the help of Tapabrata a.k.a Tech.Masti, but to no avail :(
     
  12. amitabhishek

    amitabhishek Bad to the bone

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai

    You need to use the resource CD that comes with the phone. You should have the dialer there.

    I have used Reliance to connect my laptop to GPRS while I was in roaming in Bihar using a Vodafone SIM.
     
  13. Hok

    Hok New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just went to the Reliance office a few hours back and they said that they are giving EDGE also THOUGH they are only CALLING it as GPRS for simplicity.After all with download speed of around 18KB/sec, it sure must be EDGE.:smile:
     
  14. djfreaky

    djfreaky New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    are you ppl getting download speed of over 15kbps with reliance smart in kolkata? wat are the charges?..is it unlimited?...i use mobile office of airtel...498 per month speed is great...14-18kbps during day...over 20kbps in late night
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Tech.Masti

    Tech.Masti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ( 22.2° N, 88.2° E )
    Its fully depends on signal strength, Airtel signal is good in most places so you getting good speed
     
  16. mdasique

    mdasique New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,
    My handset is Nokia 5300 Express Music, called customer care 9832098320, they told me to send one SMS to some number to get the settings(can't remember all now). I did it and received the setting.
    Please call them, I believe they can help in this scenario. If not pls let me know I will tell you the details.
    Thanks/Ibnul

     
  17. mannuforall

    mannuforall mannuforall

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Moradabad
    To connect in laptop through SE, make a new connection with SE PC Suite, go to network connection in your SE PC Suite. Click next, and select settings from handset, select APN, than finish and try to connect with this.
    If you feel any problem to make a connection, than I'll tell you step-by-step process.
     
  18. mdasique

    mdasique New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just want to add about Smart:
    I tried to connect internet through my mobile and unable to do that. Message showing "Subscribe to packet data first". Called Customer Care, they told that validity has been expired, I recharged with Rs. 303/-, after 10 mints I received a call from customer care and they informed me to check the connection, they again activated the GPRS.................Great. Great support, Appreciated.
     
  19. gauravakaasid

    gauravakaasid Back to l33ching :)

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Latitude: 22° 32' North. Longitude: 88° 22' East
    ^^thats really good customer support.

    @Ibnul and Mannu...thnx guys, will try it out and post back

    Thanks guys for your help.....finally got my connection working :D
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2008
  20. djfreaky

    djfreaky New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page