***Firefox Vulnerability Prompts Another Interim Release***

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by techno_funky, Oct 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. techno_funky

    techno_funky da' Ťurntable ruleth

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mumbai
    The Mozilla Foundation has once again released an interim version of its popular Firefox browser. Firefox 0.10.1 addresses a new security vulnerability which could allow a hacker to delete files from a user's download directory.

    Users of the initial Firefox 1.0 preview release can patch their browser against this vulnerability by running the Firefox automatic update feature. Users of the preview release can also choose to manually install this patch using the link provided below.

    Firefox Security Update Information and Download

    Firefox Home

    Article Courtesy-www.neowin.net
     
  2. Kshipra

    Kshipra New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beyond You...
    thnx... i just downloaded RC... time to upgrade... so quick!
     
  3. Prashray

    Prashray New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Locating....Locating....Access Denied!
    Good info.
     
  4. goobimama

    goobimama  Macboy

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,482
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa
  5. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    updated dude!
     
  6. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    The best thing I like about this update, is that the fix was only 9 KB in size, & it automatically updated the build version to .10.1, insted of downloading it again, definetely looking forward to Firefox 1.0 final, man this skinable browser is freeking good, specially when the updates are only 9 kb or so in size, but if they keep this up then it will be good like if there is a bug fix in Firefox 1.0 then we can have update of that it only 10 or 100 kb series
     
  7. zenblue

    zenblue New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im using firefox 0.9.2...i just checked the auto update and it said " firefox not able to find any available updates".....are the updates "available for" and "apply to" only version 1.0PR?? is 0.9.2 not effected by this vulnerability?...
     
  8. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Is firefox good?
     
  9. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    firefox is the fastest browser and the beter than ie, it's interface is not that good but.
     
  10. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    I think that firefox is C_R_A_P...

    Coz it can't do the most basic thing required by a browser...
    Rendering a page...

    If it's better than IE then why can't it render pages better than IE...???
    Answer me...
     
  11. sailendra

    sailendra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Nikhil, I disagree with it. Firefox renders pages well...if you compare with IE, it is way better in terms of features and support for standards. Right now IE has the market share so its only natural that web page authors design their pages and content to make it look the best in IE. As far as Firefox goes, I can vouch for it since I have been using it for the past 6 months - it Rocks! I say all of us should give it a try.... :)
     
  12. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    Nikhil I used to think the same, but from rendering from cache Firefox is faster then IE6 SP2, I M using it just because of one reason, it is Skinable in Crystal icons

    Use it, U will like it
     
  13. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I tried upgrading, it said, no upgrade avilable and I have 0.9 :cry:
     
  14. shrek_incredible

    shrek_incredible New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Firefox rules ... be it the rendering or the extensions . IE was good but due to loss of updates to IE6 i think it just lost ground like Netscape did sometime back against IE ...!!

    There are so many security flaws in IE rite now that is not advisable to use IE ... as it was listed on the Firefox Update site ..there are atleast 26 open security issues with IE as compared to only 1 with Firefox

    All in all Firefox delivers the knockout punch to IE
     
  15. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    there are flaws in firefox, but they are kept behind doors by the open source community to save it's reputation
     
  16. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    thanx man for the info . firefox sure beats the hell outaa everyone and its nice to keep it updated. keep giving the good info .

    cheers
     
  17. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    I think you guys are not getting my point...

    Do you remember my website doens't used to open correctly with firefox when i used nested layers......
    I had to redesign the whole website using tables only to correct it...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page