Firefox 2 is now "officially" released.

Discussion in 'Technology News' started by eddie, Oct 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Firefox 2 has now been "officially" released :)

    What's New in Firefox 2
    Release notes: http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/2.0/releasenotes/
    Grab your build: www.getfirefox.com

    The visual refresh now shows through the related websites as well. At least main firefox page and Addons page have been revamped to look uber cool :D
     
  2. abhinav

    abhinav New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Great news....

    Now heading over to the final version :)
     
  3. naveen_reloaded

    naveen_reloaded !! RecuZant By Birth !!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    In Everyone`s Heart
    very good news...but nothing comes near in rendering a page like internet explorer

    why is that like that???

    another thing there are many problems with other browser in case f yahoo mail....

    and also the way the page is rendered......

    anyway downloading...... the latest version....lets see how it is ???
     
  4. teknoPhobia

    teknoPhobia t3h g04t

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AnKH Morpork/Tsort
    I got it yeaterday :D
     
  5. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    great news..i am downloading it..
     
  6. OP
    OP
    eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
  7. mohit sharma

    mohit sharma New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ghaziabad , India , Earth , Universe
    @ EDDIE
    Thanks for the info. , and keep doing work like this , for updating us all :)
     
  8. montylee

    montylee New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Just downloaded it. Looks cool with new features.
     
  9. piyush gupta

    piyush gupta New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    never land
    Downloaded yesterday
     
  10. hemant_mathur

    hemant_mathur -- No Easter Eggs here --

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Front of my pc
    Time to try ff
     
  11. busyanuj

    busyanuj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    the new version has been crashing unexpectedly (not just for me, but many ppl). the "restore session" functionality is good, but who'd want his browser to crash in the first place?

    i'm waiting for mozilla to release a fix for it.
     
  12. planetcall

    planetcall Indian by heart

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    The last build v1.5.0.7 is set to automatically upgrade in event of new release. I just checked that even if the newer version i.e. FF2 is out , still my browser doesnt show any update required. I think mozilla team is fixing a few things before they set it for global automated update for all FF users.
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    And the new homepage of firefox is looking more sexy now :D
     
  14. Suhas M

    Suhas M New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great news.....Thanx!
     
  15. TechGuru#1

    TechGuru#1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that's KORREKT!:cool:;):D
     
  16. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool......I've been waiting for this since months! :)
     
  17. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    i updated today, most of the old extensions don't work, so i had to look for replacements, this is the biggest problem with firefox, same thing happened with me when Firefox 1.5 relesed & i switched from 1.0, extensions were no longer usable. Can't they just use one extension engine

    Although, I m used to IE 7 now, so i was looking for a few extensions for firefox, to make it behave like IE in functionality, & i found one extension for firefox, which emulates the IE 7 Quicktab feature

    [​IMG]

    It called Tab Catalog extension
     
  18. TechGuru#1

    TechGuru#1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's xcatly WHY i am NOT yet ready 2 use FF2?
    I really cant help the Net w/o the FF 1.5 extensions which i have become so much used to!

    * & morever FF1.5 is still NOT giving a AUTO update 2 FF 2.0 so i would b ONLY Upgrading after all the issues r more or less setteled particularly abt the EXTENSION part!
     
  19. [xubz]

    [xubz] "The Cake is a Lie!!"

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Extensions work.. IF They're updated..

    For those who're Blabbing about Extensions, Here's a Small Tutorial..

    1. Search for the Extension you want, But instead of Clicking the "Install Now" Button, Right click it and Select "Save Link As" and Save the .xpi File to your HD.
    2. The XPI File is basically just a ZIP File with a Different Extension.., So Extract it with WinRAR.
    3. Open the Folder in Which you've Extracted, and Open the "Install.rdf" with your Fav. Text Editor.
    4. You can See its a XML File.. Edit the Part that Says
      Code:
      <em:minVersion>1.0.*</em:minVersion>
      <em:maxVersion>1.5.0.*</em:maxVersion>
      and Make it
      Code:
      <em:minVersion>1.0.*</em:minVersion>
      <em:maxVersion>3.0.0.*</em:maxVersion>
    5. Save the File, and Repack the Files as a ZIP File and Rename the Extension to XPI
    6. Open Firefox, Open Addons (Tools->Addons)
    7. Drag and Drop the XPI File into the Addon Box..
    8. Profit!!! :p

    Now you can Install any Extension..

    Do not try Installing Themes that Way.. Many Things have changed since the 1.5 version.. so you'll have a Ugly Looking One.. :|
     
  20. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    firefox has changed many of the core functionality of how extensions work, so even this install.rdf file trick does not helps those extensions

    For me Firefox 2 = Firefox 1.5 + extensions integrated
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page